Winona State University
Locations
Winona Campus Rochester Campus
Book a Room Ask the Library My Account
Krueger Library
Search
Search Overview Research Guides & Tutorials WorldCat: WSU & Beyond Databases A-Z Periodicals by Title Open River: Digital Collections Archives & Special Collections
Services
Services Overview Borrow & Request Research Help Faculty Services Tutoring Services Digital Learning Commons
Collections
Collections Overview Databases A-Z Archives & Special Collections Virtual Displays Open River: Digital Collections Library Art Government Documents
About Us
About Us Overview Mission & Goals Contact Us Subject Librarian Liaisons Policies Library FAQs

MUS 351/352: Music from Antiquity through the Baroque & Classical to the Present

Find Sheet Music in the Krueger Library

Here's how to find sheet music using the Krueger Library catalog:

  1. From the library homepage, in the OneSearch search box, select Library Catalog--Books & Media in the Select drown-down menu box. 
  2. Type the composer's name or the title of the composition. Then search. 
  3. On the results page, under Resource Type, select Scores. 
  4. You will see titles that are held in the WSU Krueger Library Main Collection, some online options, and some titles that are available elsewhere. 
  5. Click on the title for more information and a description.
  6. Cite, email, text, or export the information using the links at the top.
  7. Write down the call number. Each item in the library's collection, has it's own call number. For more information about call numbers, visit: WHAT'S A CALL NUMBER?
  8. Sheet music will be found in the M1-M5000 call number area of the Main Collection. For a detailed list of how music is organized using the Library of Congress Classification (call number) system, download this .pdf file.
  9. Make sure the sheet music is available before you...
  10. Go to the shelves to find it. The Main Collection is on the 2nd floor of the library.

Krueger Library Doesn't Have It

Here's how to find sheet music when the WSU Library doesn't have it:

  1. From the library homepage, select the WSU Databases link under the Find Articles & More heading.
  2. Select the database, WorldCat.
  3. Select Advanced Search.
  4. In the Limit Type To: section, select Musical Scores. This limiter will communicate to the database that you only want to search for "Musical Scores" (i.e. Music).
  5. Conduct your search either by keyword, subject, title, author, or ISBN.
  6. Once you've found the correct recording, click on the hyperlinked title to enter the record.
  7. Click the  button to request the item from another library:
    • A new tab will open; you will be in the OneSearch tool. 
    • In the FIND IT section (below the item information, you will be prompted to either:
      • Sign in. You will prompted to login with your StarID or the barcode on the back of your WSU ID.
      • Or, given the option to click on Resource Sharing.
    • After you click on Resource Sharing, all of the necessary information about the item will be filled in automatically. Check for accuracy. Check that your WSU email is correct and that pickup location is WSU Krueger Library. 
    • Scroll to the bottom of the page, check the copyright box, and click Send Request.