MUS 351/352: Music from Antiquity through the Baroque & Classical to the Present

Using Other People's Ideas

How to Cite

When working on a large research project, it may be helpful to use a citation management system such as Zotero (available on the web). For smaller projects, it is often quicker to learn how to compose an accurate citation without using a citation generator, such as EasyBib, BibMe, Citation Machine, etc.

You can find citation style guides on the first floor of the library in the Reference Collection area.

Purdue Owl also has a useful and easy to understand guide for research and citation resources. The guide includes descriptions and examples on citing sources in MLA, APA, Chicago, and several other styles.

MLA Format

Purdue OWL has created a useful online guide of the MLA format. This online guide includes descriptions and examples. 

The following video was produced for Hayden Memorial Library; it contains useful information about MLA citation style: 

APA Format

Purdue OWL has created a useful online guide of the APA citation style. This online guide includes descriptions and examples. 

The following video was produced for Hayden Memorial Library; it contains useful information about APA citation style: 

Zotero

Zotero is a free citation management program that allows you to save citations from library databases and automatically format in-text citations and your bibliography in seconds.

 

Need to get a quick citation? Zotero now offers ZoteroBib which allows you to make quick bibliographies online!