Required Databases for this Assignment
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Most comprehensive index of medical research in the world. Many articles are available through open access.
Look for
for links to our holdings or to request via interlibrary loan/Resource Sharing.
- PubMed MeSH TutorialAn online tutorial to how to seach for Medical Subject Headings and combine them in the PubMed database.
- PubMed Filter InstructionsPubMed eliminated its "Limits" page in the summer of 2012. It now uses what it calls "filters" to narrow results. This link goes to help pages regarding filters.
ADDITIONAL DATABASES
- Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowMore than 250 leading full text journals in nursing and allied health.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health. Virtually all English-language publications are indexed along with the publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Some full text.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowThe Google search engine focused on scholarly content. Powerful full-text searching, but sometimes the results are not actually full text without paying a fee. Use the "Getit@WinonaState" button to access full-text articles that are available through the library.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowBroad database with both academic and general articles. Many fulltext, though some citation only.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles, mostly in the sciences, though some social sciences. Citations from 1980. Some full text starting in 1993, more full text from 1997.
- Gale Encyclopedia of MedicineIncludes information on more than 1,700 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.
