Librarian
Core Chemistry library databases
Use these databases to find the best articles from Chemistry journals.
Some databases provide article citations, but not full text. The Find It! button will link to full text across databases. If full text is not available, request it via Interlibrary Loan.
- American Chemical Society This link opens in a new windowFull text journals from the American Chemical Society, including titles from the 19th century.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles, mostly in the sciences, though some social sciences. Citations from 1980. Some full text starting in 1993, more full text from 1997.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowSearch all Springer publications, with citations and abstracts. FULL TEXT IS RARELY AVAILABLE. Get articles and books using Krueger Library's ILL/Resource Sharing page.
- Materials Research Database with METADEX This link opens in a new window
The Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Coverage: 1965 - current
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowSearch all Wiley publications, with citations and abstracts. FULL TEXT IS RARELY AVAILABLE. Click "Krueger Library" to view the content in OneSearch.
Free worldwide databases
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowA robust full text searching tool to find scholarly articles, but sometimes the results are not actually full text without paying a fee. Click on "FindIt@WinonaState" listed on the right hand side to get access to full text articles that are available through Krueger Library.
If you click on >> in your search results and click "GetIt@WinonaState," you'll be taken to OneSearch where you can sign in to request the item through ILL/Resource Sharing. - PubChem This link opens in a new window
Chemical compounds linked to toxicology data and PubMed citations.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Most comprehensive index of medical research in the world. Many articles are available through open access.
Look for
for links to our holdings or to request via interlibrary loan/Resource Sharing.
STEM Research Databases
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowArticles are detailed reviews of a particular topic, often discussing hundreds of recent studies. Most of our access is in biology, chemistry, medicine, and engineering.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles, mostly in the sciences, though some social sciences. Citations from 1980. Some full text starting in 1993, more full text from 1997.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering the social sciences, humanities, and arts. Some journal issues extend back to the 19th century. Full text.
- MathSciNet via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
The MathSciNet you know and love, but with the EBSCO interface.
- American Chemical Society This link opens in a new windowFull text journals from the American Chemical Society, including titles from the 19th century.
- ASTM Standards This link opens in a new windowMaterials engineering standards. WE DO NOT HAVE FULL TEXT ACCESS AVAILABLE ONLINE. Krueger Library will submit an ILL/Resource Sharing request for any standard needed by a student or faculty member. The 2010 standards for section 8, plastics, and section 15.3, composites, are available in paper in the Reference Collection (TA401 .A653).
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowRegister here. You must register to use. Provides students and faculty with unlimited access to the world’s largest and most reliable collection of chemistry and related science information. When you are looking at a record, use “Link to Other Sources” to get to the “Find it! at WSU” system, which won't work if your pop-up blocker blocks it.
- LANL arXiv.org Pre-Print Archive This link opens in a new window
The pre-print archive at the Los Alamos National Laboratory. Started in August 1991, arXiv.org is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, and quantitative biology.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowSearch all Wiley publications, with citations and abstracts. FULL TEXT IS RARELY AVAILABLE. Click "Krueger Library" to view the content in OneSearch.
