Librarian
Business Databases
- Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT, market share, and financial reports.
- Business Source Premier - Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Business Searching Interface features Company and Industry Profiles and Country and Market Research Reports. You can also browse by publication types including SWOT analyses, trade publications and magazines.
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, etc. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. Business Source Premier contains PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDF's are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color. - Business Source Premier - Standard Interface This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, etc.
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Features industry surveys, data on private and public U.S companies, international businesses, and consumers, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and more.
- U.S. Newsstream (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowContent and archives (1980s-) from national and regional news sources including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, Chicago Tribune, and Minneapolis Star Tribune.
Public vs. Private Companies
To determine if the company you are researching is private or public, try the following:
- Search the company's website for an "investors relations" (or similar language) link. If it is a public company, they will provide stock exchange information on their site.
- Search for the company name on EDGAR (free database provided by the Securities and Exchange Commision). click on Search for Company Filings If it is a public company, you will retrieve a company report.
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new windowMergent Intellect has information on both Public Companies and Private Companies. If the company is public, there should be a tab for "SEC Filings." If the company is private, it will not.
Public Company Search Tips!
Business Source Premier and Mergent Intellect provide company information for large, publicly traded companies. If you are searching for additional company information or for information on a company not found in Business Source Premier or Mergent, you can search business journals, newspapers and company websites.
In addition to the company's name, include one of these useful search terms.
Company analysis, financial performance, sales, profits, market research, forecast (forecasting), market report, target market(ing), market segmentation, corporate profits.
Many public companies make their annual reports freely available on their websites. Look for a link called "Investor Relations"
Online Newspapers and Magazines
- Wall Street Journal (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new window
Unlimited access to WSJ.com and the WSJ App.
You will need to create a separate account. See details: Wall Street Journal Access
- New York Times (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times is a daily newspaper based in New York City. Covers domestic, national, and international news, and publishes opinion pieces, investigative reports, and reviews.
Historical articles can be accessed via nyt.com, but you can only view five articles published between 1923-1980 per day. If you need access to more than five historical articles, use the Krueger Library's New York Times Historical database.
Access Issues? See this FAQ: NYT Troubleshooting
- Flipster This link opens in a new window
A collection of digital magazines, including The Atlantic, Time, Diverse: Issues in Higher Education, Bloomberg Businessweek, The New Yorker, Rolling Stone, Newsweek, Columbia Journalism Review, Ebony, Forbes, the National Review, and more.
Flipster is available through WSU Apps. You need to use a web browser to download issues into the app to read them. Additional information is available in our Flipster Guide.
