Krueger News and Stories - Research Hub at Winona State University

The Library Department is offering a new, one-credit course: LIBS 310: Advanced Research for Nursing and Allied Health.

See a course description and register here: Registration

The course is intended for students interested in the health sciences, but is open to anyone. The course provides an introduction to both advanced library searching and health sciences information. You do not need a background in the health sciences to understand the content!

Topics Include:

Common research designs in health sciences and the Levels of Evidence
Advanced search techniques such as Boolean logic and phrase searching
Controlled vocabularies such as MeSH
Finding credible public health and demographic data
Health misinformation and disinformation

Please note: This is a fully online, asynchronous course. However, the instructor will be available for office hours in person at the Krueger Library.

Meet the instructor: Amanda Pruka is the librarian liaison for Nursing and Psychology.

Recent Posts

New Library Science Course: LIBS 310: Advanced Research for Nursing and Allied Health

The Library Department is offering a new, one-credit course: LIBS 310: Advanced Research for Nursing and Allied Health. See a course description and register here: RegistrationThe course is intended for students interested in the health sciences, but is open to anyone. The course provides an introduction to both advanced library searching and health sciences information. You do not need a background in the health sciences to understand the content! Topics Include: Common research designs in health sciences and the Levels of EvidenceAdvanced search techniques such as Boolean logic and phrase searching Controlled vocabularies such as MeSHFinding credible public health and demographic dataHealth misinformation and disinformationPlease note: This is a fully online, asynchronous course. However, the instructor will be available for office hours in person at the Krueger Library. Meet the instructor: Amanda Pruka is the librarian liaison for Nursing and Psychology. ...

WorldCat Discovery

Krueger library has a new way to search for books, music, dissertations and other resources from around the world: WorldCat DiscoveryWorldCat Discovery is a new interface for the WorldCat database. Materials can be found and requested via interlibrary loan (Resource Sharing).WorldCat FirstSearchWorldCat FirstSearch is still available! Find a link on the Databases A-Z page and the Search Overview page. If you would like to bookmark the page, use this URL: http://wsuproxy.mnpals.net/login?url=https://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=WorldCatFirstSearch vs WorldCat DiscoveryFirstSearch and WorldCat Discovery both search the WorldCat database. While there are some small differences in indexing, which you use is mostly personal preference. Both interfaces will remain on the library website as long as the vendor supports them. ...

Explora Searches for K-12

We have created several combined searches of EBSCO databases related to education. The Explora databases are intended for a K-12 audience and are designed to be browsable. Databases for Educators is a combined search of commonly used databases for teachers, professors, and other education professionals. Find each search on the Databases A-Z page and on research guides. EBSCO: Databases for Educators This link opens in a new window Searches across several databases with considerable content in education: ERIC, Education Full Text, the Professional Development Collection, PsycInfo and PsycArticles. Explora Kids This link opens in a new window Elementary school-appropriate magazines, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and images. Databases Included: Primary Search,, Topic Overview K-5, and Primary Search Reference eBooks. Explora Secondary (Middle School) This link opens in a new window Browse and search across three databases, each intended for a middle school audience: Middle Search Plus, Middle Search Reference eBook Collection, and Topic Overviews 6-12.Explora High School This link opens in a new windowBrowse and search across several databases with the intended audience of high school and young adult. Databases include: MAS Reference eBook Collection, Newspaper Source, Points of View Reference Source, Science Reference Source, Topic Overviews 6-12 and World Politics Review. ...

New Business Searching Interface for Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier gets a new Business Searching interface.Business Source Premier is upgrading their specialty interface, the Business Searching Interface. Krueger Library is set to launch the new interface on Monday, May 12th, 2025.Preview the new BSI interface. https://research.ebsco.com/c/sv3f42?db=buhSee an overview from the vendor, EBSCO: New Business Searching Interface Overview.Standard Research Interface vs Business Searching InterfaceBusiness Search Premier will continue to be available on two separate interfaces: Standard Research Interface and the Business Searching Interface. Both will continue to be available on the Databases A-Z page. These two interfaces have the same content. The BSI has more browsing features, such as sections for SWOTs, case studies, country and company reports. New Business Searching Interface Overview...