Native American Studies, Government Documents

This digital archive includes a seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes available as a fully searchable digitized text featuring page images. Browse using the Table of Contents, Index of each volume, or through keyword searching.

CodeTalk is a federal, interagency, Native American Web site designed specifically to deliver electronic information from government agencies and other organizations to Native American communities.

It's named for the CodeTalkers who served their country with honor and distinction.

These federal American Indian reservation-based maps show and label tribal census tracts and tribal block groups as well as the boundaries and names of American Indian reservations, off-reservation trust lands (ORTLs), Alaska Native areas, Hawaiian home lands, states, counties, county subdivisions, and places. Additionally, these maps display a base feature network including roads, railroads, and water bodies.

Produced by Southeastern Oklahoma State University, this guide has many links to 19th and 20th century U.S. federal publications studying Native American ethnology.

Minnesota.gov information hub on the Indian tribes of Minnesota. Includes a variety of links with content ranging from general information on tribe recognition, to specific community websites.

The Homepage of the Minnesota Indian Affairs Council. The Indian Affairs Council Offices, located in St. Paul and Bemidji, Minnesota, carry out the mission of the MIAC, which is "to protect the sovereignty of the eleven Minnesota tribes and ensure the well being of all American Indian citizens throughout the state of Minnesota."

Minnesota Historical Society archive of family histories. These geneological resources include histories of Native American families. Includes records of Birth Certificates, Death Certificates, a family history search, and other resources.

"The Ojibwe People's Dictionary is a searchable, talking Ojibwe-English dictionary that features the voices of Ojibwe speakers. It is also a gateway into the Ojibwe collections at the Minnesota Historical Society. "

Minnesota Legislative Reference Library page on Ethnic minorities. Includes a variety of information on American Indians and other minorities in regard to their significant place in Minnesota.