CHEM 360: Chemical Information
Elements and Constants
- WebElementsA site with data on each element of the periodic table. Has all of the standard data: Atomic Number, Atomic Weight, CAS registry number. It also has the electronic configuration, the Ionization enthalpies, Electron affinities, Electronegativites, Physical bulk properties, crystallography, binary compounds, lattice energies, and nuclear properties (NMR). Excellent site by Mark Winter at the University of Sheffield.
- New Periodic Table for Earth ScienceL. Bruce Railsback (University of Georgia) has created a new periodic table in order to make it easier to understand the relationship of various ion groups as they interact in the environment. Most useful for geoscientists.
- Fundamental Physical Constants (NIST)A storehouse of physical constants, along with standard and relative uncertainties. 299,792,458 meters per second: It's not just a good idea, it's the law.
Compounds
- Material Safety Data Sheets LinksBy Interactive Learning Paradigms, Inc. Everything you ever wanted to know about Material Safety Data Sheets. Glossaries, and a collection of links to various Web Servers that provide online MSDS data. By Rob Toreki.
- Millipore Sigma (Aldrich)A good source for physical constants of chemical compounds. Also provides a way to order the compounds in question directly over the Internet.
- ChemIDPlusProvides access to structure and nomenclature information for the identification of chemical substances cited in NLM databases. The database contains over 368,000 chemical records, of which over 247,000 include chemical structures.
(From National Library of Medicine.) - ChemSpiderChemSpider is a chemistry search engine. It has been built with the intention of aggregating and indexing chemical structures and their associated information into a single searchable repository and make it available to everybody, at no charge. Maintained by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
- Molar Weight CalculatorThis simple Formula Weight calculator gives the molecular weight of compounds, given the chemical formula, by David Dice.
- NIST Chemistry WebBookThermochemical data for over 35,000 chemical species (mostly of organic compounds) on the gas and liquid phase, ion-clustering, and more. Also contains UV/Vis, IR and NMR data, which are viewed through interactive Java applets. If the compound is in the database, it is much more thorough than Chemfinder and Klotho. The search syntax is complex, so for help, read the Guide to the NIST Chemistry WebBook.
- WSU Library: Patent Server LinksSearch for chemical and other patents by various fields.
- PubChem (NLM)PubChem contains chemical property and bioactivity data for about 4 million substances.
Chemistry Specific Topics
- Organic SynthesesDigital Full Text of the Organic Syntheses series of publications from Wiley, both annual volumes and collective.
- Organic Chemistry PortalSome organic chemistry syntheses, products advertised, book reviews, news.
- Science History InstituteThe Chemical Heritage Foundation (CHF) was founded by the American Chemical Society and the American Institute of Chemical Engineers. This site has some full text resources, such as biographies of famous chemists and histories of the petrochemical and pharmaceutical industries, and information on other CHF activities.
Librarian
