Newspaper Databases and Meta-Searches
Search across databases for newspaper content.
-
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
-
U.S. Newsstream (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowContent and archives (1980s-) from national and regional news sources including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, Chicago Tribune, and Minneapolis Star Tribune.
-
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Full text for regional business publications, including titles from Crain Communications. Updated daily.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
titles includes Kurdish Life, Minority Business Entrepreneur, Asian Week, Jewish Exponent, Seminole Tribune, Appalachian Heritage, Irish Voice, Chinese America, Islamic Horizons, The Filipino Express, Hmong Times, and Black Masks.
Institutional Subscriptions to News Publications
Institutional subscriptions to newspapers are very similar to individual subscriptions. Most importantly, you can browse and access content from the publisher's website.
-
Chronicle of Higher Education (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new window
The top news source for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students.
-
New York Times (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times is a daily newspaper based in New York City. Covers domestic, national, and international news, and publishes opinion pieces, investigative reports, and reviews.
-
Wall Street Journal (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new window
Unlimited access to WSJ.com and the WSJ App.
You will need to create a separate account. See details: Wall Street Journal Access
News searches in WorldCat vs OneSearch
| Searching for... | OneSearch | Tips | |
|---|---|---|---|
| News by article title or content keywords |
Yes |
No |
Proquest:or other Databases with news articles Looking for historical newspapers? See Newspapers> Historical databases. |
| Newspaper by title of publication (for example: The New York TImes or Star Tribune) |
Yes |
Yes |
Proquest:or other Databases with news articles |
| Magazine article by article title or content keywords | Yes | Yes |
Try news databases such as Proquest or Browzine Looking for historical magazines? See Newspapers> Historical databases. |
| Trade journal article by title of article | Yes | Yes | Try news and research databases |
