Museums, Archives, and Centers
You can access online collections of primary sources through several museums, specialized research centers, and archives. These collections may contain a variety of material types, from images, to manuscripts, to newspaper clippings and ephemera!
- Center for Research LibrariesA consortium of North American universities, colleges and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching.
- National Security Archive This link opens in a new window38 collections, compiled by top scholars and experts, covering the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post-WWII through the 21st century. The organization's website at George Washington University has even more documents.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA library partnership with millions of digitized books. Search the full text or catalog records. Especially good for searching for older texts, pre-1922.
- National Archives, sources on the Vietnam War"The National Archives has a wealth of records and information documenting the U.S. experience in the Vietnam conflict. These include photographs, textual and electronic records, audiovisual recordings, exhibits, educational resources, articles, blog posts, lectures, and events."
- Presidential Libraries through the National ArchivesThrough this homepage you can pick different presidential libraries to explore. Remember that not all materials will be readily available online.
- Library of Congress (LOC) Digital CollectionsThe Library of Congress is always adding new digital collections for public access. Of note is their Veterans History Project and its collections.
- Electronic Resources Relating to the Vietnam War, National Archives"This reference report provides an overview of the electronic data records in the custody of the National Archives that contain data related to military objectives and activities during the Vietnam War"
- DPLA: Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new windowThis project, led by Harvard University, is working to compile an aggregated catalog of open access digital objects from libraries across the U.S.
Library Newspaper Databases
- Ethnic NewsWatch Historical This link opens in a new windowRare collection of over 30 full text titles marketed to specific ethnic groups (Black, Hispanic, Jewish, Armenian, etc.). 1959-1989.
- New York Times Historical (1851 - 2019) This link opens in a new window
Full text and full image articles from the New York Times (1851-2019)
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive list of articles in the most popular general interest periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada. Some full text.
- Winona Newspaper Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Open access to Winona-area newspapers from the mid-1800s-1976. Presented by Krueger Library with the support of the Minnesota Historical Society and the cooperation of the Winona County Historical Society.
- Minneapolis Star Tribune Historical This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The entire Minneapolis Star and Tribune (including various predecessors) from 1867-2001. - Winonan Student Newspaper This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search the student newspapers of WSU from 1919. - U.S. Newsstream (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowContent and archives (1980s-) from national and regional news sources including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, Chicago Tribune, and Minneapolis Star Tribune.
Video and Music Databases
Use these databases to find historical films (primary source materials created at the time of the event) and more recent documentaries that cover historical events (secondary source materials).
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowView documentary features and clips online in this library provided by Films for the Humanities and Sciences.
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive video database, with over 70,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
- Next stop is VietnamAnthology of over 300 tracks on the Vietnam War's musical legacy.
Government Documents
- WSU Library: Federal Historical ResourcesThe Library has another whole guide dedicated to government documents!
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series"The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity"
