WATCH: Scholarly, Trade, and Popular Articles
Selecting Databases
To search for articles, select one of the databases listed below, or return to the Research Hub and browse the Databases by Subject to select the most appropriate subject database for your topic.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Broad database with both academic and general articles. Many are full text, but some are citation only.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
The major database for mass communications, communication studies, marketing, and related fields. Combined coverage of over 770 titles. Some full text.
- Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
A research database for education students, professionals and policymakers. It includes full-text education journals that cover the essentials of education and related fields of study, including in-depth coverage of special education. Education journals from 1983. Full text from 1994.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering the social sciences, humanities, and arts. Some journal issues extend back to the 19th century. Full text.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
From the Modern Language Association. Bibliography of journal articles, books, websites, and dissertations. Coverage includes literature from all over the world, folklore, linguistics and language materials, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and history of printing and publishing.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles, mostly in the sciences, though some social sciences. Citations from 1980. Some full text starting in 1993, more full text from 1997.
Current Newspapers (Primary Sources)
- New York Times (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times is a daily newspaper based in New York City. Covers domestic, national, and international news, and publishes opinion pieces, investigative reports, and reviews.
Historical articles can be accessed via nyt.com, but you can only view five articles published between 1923-1980 per day. If you need access to more than five historical articles, use the Krueger Library's New York Times Historical database.
Access Issues? See this FAQ: NYT Troubleshooting
- Wall Street Journal (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new window
Unlimited access to WSJ.com and the WSJ App.
You will need to create a separate account. See details: Wall Street Journal Access
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowAll of the ProQuest databases, including APS Online, New York Times Historical, Ethnic NewsWatch Historical, Gender Watch, and Nursing & Allied Heath. Now also includes former Cambridge Scientific databases, such as the Materials Research Database and Sociological Abstracts.
