ENG 111: College Reading and Writing (Armstrong)
Online Reference Resources
The library has access to many subject-specialized reference sources that may contain information about your recipe or the ingredients.
The below list of online resources is a good place to begin:
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new windowSearch the indices of Krueger Library's Reference Collection (print and electronic books).
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowFull text resource for a diverse range of subjects. Types of sources include general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new windowAccess to standard and academic reference sources on a wide range of topics, including business, law, literature, medicine, technology, and more.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowWidely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. An unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words, past and present, from across the English-speaking world.
Reference Books - Food Topics
A reference book is a specialized resource (encyclopedia, dictionary, handbook, atlas, guidebook, etc.). Here's how to find a reference book using the Krueger Library catalog:
- From the library homepage, select the Catalog link under the Research drop-down menu.
- Select the Advanced search option, a link just to the right of the search box.
- Select Reference from theCollection menu.
- Go to the next box for instructions on how to use the WSU Library Catalog.
Please find below a list of reference print resources that cover food topics. Many of the articles are written by experts and contain a bibliographic list. These books are located in the Reference Collection (1st floor). They cannot be checked out, but you can scan, photocopy, or take a photograph of the page(s) you need. Remember to write down all of the citation information.
- The Cambridge World History of Food byCall Number: Ref. TX353 .C255ISBN: 052140214XPublication Date: 1999
- The Oxford Handbook of Food History byCall Number: Ref. TX353 .O94ISBN: 019972993XPublication Date: 2012
- Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America byCall Number: Ref. TX349 .E45ISBN: 0195154371Publication Date: 2004
- The Encyclopedia of Fruit and Nuts byCall Number: Ref. SB359 .E56ISBN: 0851996388Publication Date: 2008
- The Essential Reference to Vegetables from Amaranth to Zucchini byCall Number: Ref. TX801 .S353ISBN: 0688152600Publication Date: 2001
General Encyclopedia vs. Subject Encyclopedia
A general encyclopedia will contain information about a wide range of topics.
The articles are:
- written by an editor or staff writer (not necessarily experts)
- not usally signed, meaning no author is listed
- short, usually under 100 words in length
- provide an overview on a topic, but not a lof of specific or detailed information
- Examples:
- Encyclopedia Britanica (a Krueger Library Database)
- Encyclopedia Americana (Printed set in the Reference Collection, REF AE5 .E333)
A subject encyclopedia will be more focused and detailed information on a specific subject.
The articles are:
- written typically by an author with professional knowledge or educational background on the topic
- signed by the author
- longer in length; word lenght varies
- more detailed and specific about a topic than a general encyclopedia
- sources are often cited
- Examples:
- The Oxofrd Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America (Printed set in the Reference Collection, TX349 .E45 2004)
- The Oxford Companion to the Book (Printed set in the Reference Collection, REF Z4 .O89 2010 )
