HIST 295: Sophomore Seminar: Fabulous 50's

"The Fifties in America covers these and many other topics in its 640 essays, which range from half-column articles on individual personages, books, events, films, court cases, and other subjects, to 7-page overviews on such subjects as literature, economics, education, politics, medicine, music, science, film and television."

This encyclopedia is available both in print and as an e-book.

A classic reference book that covers the history of the United States from pre-Columbian times through the first year of the Clinton Administration.

A Companion to Post-1945 America is an original collection of 34 essays by key scholars on the history and historiography of Post-1945 America.

A Companion to 20th-Century America is an authoritative survey of the most important topics and themes of twentieth-century American history and historiography.

This three-volume work traces the history of revolts and rebellions from the colonial era to the 20th century.

The Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History surveys the richly layered dimensions of American life in a format that clarifies the many issues, ideas, movements and places that constitute the American experience.

This reference focuses on processes and people - how they chose sites for towns and built their homes, how they led their lives, how they modified and were modified by their physical surroundings. Race, gender, ethnicity, work, culture, technology, education, and family history are included.

A comprehensive and authoritative encyclopedia of U.S. political history.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History brings together in a single authoritative reference work an extraordinary wealth of information about the history of everyday life in America.

With over 1,400 entries written by some 900 historians and other scholars, it illuminates not only America's political, diplomatic, and military history, but also social, cultural, and intellectual trends; science, technology, and medicine; the arts; and religion.

The set includes numerous illustrations, a topic finder, primary source documents, a bibliography and a filmography, and an index.

Prepared under the auspices of the Council on Foreign Relations, this comprehensive four-volume reference examines the political, economic, military, and cultural interactions of the federal government and the American people with nations and peoples abroad from 1776 to 1997.

This is an authoritative volume of historiographical essays that survey the state of U.S. diplomatic history.

A thorough update of the standard bibliography of American foreign relations literature from colonial times to 2003.

The volume includes a list of important concepts and terms and a selected bibliography, as well as suggested readings following each entry, and an index.

Provides both a chronological and thematic approach: topics range from British America in the Eighteenth Century to the modern day globalization of American Culture; thematic approaches include gender and sexuality and popular culture

The book traces the evolution of propaganda from the era of printed handbills to computer fakery, and profiles practitioners of the art.

More than 7,500 A-Z entries on the artistic, technical, and commercial aspects of moviemaking, including: Directors, producers, actors, screenwriters, and cinematographers; Styles, genres, and schools of filmmaking; Motion picture studios and film centers; Film-related organizations and events; Industry jargon and technical terms; Inventions, inventors, and equipment; Plus comprehensive listings of academy award-winning films And artists, top-grossing films.

Encyclopedia of the Korean War offers complete coverage of strategies, weapon systems, and clashes that marked the course of events on the battlefield. Addresses a variety of political, economic, social, and popular culture topics as well.

A Companion to the Vietnam War contains twenty-four definitive essays on America's longest and most divisive foreign conflict. It represents the best current scholarship on this controversial and influential episode in modern American history. Highlights issues of nationalism, culture, gender, and race. Covers the breadth of Vietnam War history, including American war policies, the Vietnamese perspective, the antiwar movement, and the American home front. Surveys and evaluates the best scholarship on every important era and topic. Includes a select bibliography to guide further research.

This book contains a chronology and introduction that traces Vietnam's history, as well as a bibliography.

The focus of this historical dictionary is the deepening US military and political involvement in Vietnam, Laos, and Cambodia during the decades from 1945 to 1975.

Presents opposing viewpoints on various aspects of the Vietnam War, including the reasons for American involvement, the failure of United States policy there, and the effects on veterans.

Now in its second edition, this comprehensive study of the Vietnam War sheds more light on the longest and one of the most controversial conflicts in U.S. history.

This volume sets out to shed light on the people, events and actions involved in the war. It contains three types of articles: brief, dictionary-like entries (50 to 1000 words) for easy reference to personalities, military units, and battles; longer articles (1000 to 2500 words) on major figures such as John F. Kennedy, Ho Chi Minh and Henry Kissinger; and extended essays (5000 to 10,000 words) that describe and interpret major themes including The Land and the People of Vietnam, Diplomacy, The Search for Peace The War at Home and The Media.