Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America by ISBN: 0684312611Publication Date: 2003-12-05
Documentaries
Secondary Source Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering the social sciences, humanities, and arts. Some journal issues extend back to the 19th century. Full text.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowFull text journals from Johns Hopkins University Press, emphasizing the humanities and social sciences.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Covers U.S. and Canadian history. Also strong in the social sciences and humanities. Access over 1,700 journals published worldwide, including state historical society journals. Citations for books, media, and dissertations as well. Coverage from 1954.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Broad database with both academic and general articles. Many are full text, but some are citation only.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world from 1450 (excluding the U.S. and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Abstracts and citations only.
Secondary (and Tertiary) Sources
The Krueger Library collections have a number of books relevant to LGBTQIA2S+ history, we have access to a number of databases to help you find academic articles, and there are also a plethora of resources curated by the Minnesota Historical Society that can help you get started with secondary sources.
During the duration of the exhibit, the Library will also have a couple of book displays with titles available in-person.
Minnesota History
To Banish Forever: a secret society, the Ho-Chunk, and ethnic cleansing in Minnesota by ISBN: 9781681342559Publication Date: 2024-01-16
Precious and Adored by ISBN: 9781681341293Publication Date: 2019-05-01We do not (presently) own this book, but if you are interested, it can be requested over Resource Sharing/Interlibrary Loan.
General Texts on 2SLGBTQIA+ Histories
Nonbinary Gender Identities: History, Culture, Resources by ISBN: 1442275510Publication Date: 2017-12-08
Visibility Interrupted: rural queer life and the politics of unbecoming by ISBN: 9781517910631Publication Date: 2021-07-27
Just Queer Folks: Gender and Sexuality in Rural America by ISBN: 9781439909973Publication Date: 2013-06-14
Becoming Two-Spirit: gay identity and social acceptance in Indian country by ISBN: 0803271263Publication Date: 2006-10-01
General Texts on Indigenous Histories
An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States by ISBN: 9780807000403Publication Date: 2014-09-16
MNopedia: the Encyclopedia of the Minnesota Historical Society!
In addition to their overview of Queer and Trans history in Minnesota, MNopedia also has a number of entries about individuals in historical Minnesota LGBTQIA+ communities. It is a great place to start.
