Warriors Vote - 2020

POSITION DESCRIPTION: What do Soil & Water Conservation District Supervisors do?

Soil Water & Conservation District Supervisors (SWCDs) are a primary source of conservation information, support and program management for landowners and other local units of government. They are technical experts that understand their specific communities’ needs and help landowners navigate conservation programs from start to finish. There are 90 SWCDs in Minnesota. Minnesota’s SWCDs have their roots in Winona County where the first district was formed in 1938.

Winona County SWCD has these seats open in 2020:

District 2: Fremont, Saratoga, St. Charles, Utica
District 3: Hillsdale, Rollingstone, Winona
District 5: Homer, New Hartford, Pleasant Hill, Richmond

Not up for election are:

District 1: representing Whitewater, Mount Vernon, Elba and Norton Townships
District 4: representing Warren, Wilson, Hart and Wiscoy Townships

Candidates are elected county wide, but must reside in one of the nomination districts up for election. SWCD Supervisors serve four year terms. They meet the second Wednesday of every month at 9 am in Lewiston MN to discuss the business of the SWCD, including state grant allocations to landowners, district conservation priorities, coordination with other local units of government and state and federal agencies. Supervisors do not receive a salary, although they do receive compensation for attending meetings and are reimbursed for expenses.

Soil & Water Conservation District - Candidate Videos 2020

Soil and Water Supervisor District 2 Joshua Dean Elsing NONPARTISAN
Soil and Water Supervisor District 3 Bill Rowekamp NONPARTISAN
Soil and Water Supervisor District 5 Andy Kronebusch NONPARTISAN


No videos or websites for these candidates . Each is running unopposed.