Research Hub: Economics &amp; Finance: Databases

Welcome!

This guide is designed to help with Economics and Finance research. Click on the database titles to the right to get started.

Can't find it? We can get it!

The Citation Linker / Find It searches across databases. If the resource is not in our holdings, a Resource Sharing Request will appear.

Core Library Databases for Economics and Finance

Use EconLit, Business Source, and JSTOR to find the best articles from Economics journals, and use Capital IQ and Mergent to get financial data from corporations.

Some databases provide article citations, but not full text. The Find It! button will link to full text across databases. If full text is not available, request it via Interlibrary Loan.

EconLit
Produced by the American Economic Association. Contains nearly 1.3 million records with citations and abstracts dating back to 1886. Content is indexed from 73 countries, and all abstracts are provided in English. NOTE: Limited to a small number of simultaneous users. If you are blocked, wait a while and try again.
Business Source Premier - Standard Interface
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, etc.

Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. Business Source Premier contains PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDF's are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color.
The database also includes other sources of full text information such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Business Source Premier provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals including Academy of Management Journal is available back to 1958, Accounting Review to 1926, Administrative Science Quarterly to 1956, California Management Review to 1958, Industrial & Labor Relations Review to 1947, Journal of Accounting Research to 1963, Journal of Finance to 1946, Journal of Marketing to 1936, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR) to 1964, Management Science to 1954, Operations Research to 1956, etc.
JSTOR
Access to thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering the social sciences, humanities, and arts, including the journals of the American Economic Association, with a three-year embargo.
Capital IQ
Provides public and private company and industry information including extensive financial data, stock reports, and more. Use hundreds of data points to generate lists of companies, markets, and executives. Includes an Excel add-in for data analysis.
You must register as a new user using your WSU email to access the data.
Mergent Intellect
Features industry surveys, data on private and public U.S companies, international businesses, and consumers, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and more.

Newspapers with Business and Economic News

New York Times (Institutional Subscription)
The New York Times is a daily newspaper based in New York City. Covers domestic, national, and international news, and publishes opinion pieces, investigative reports, and reviews.

Access Issues? See this FAQ: NYT Troubleshooting
Wall Street Journal (Institutional Subscription)
Unlimited access to WSJ.com and the WSJ App.
You will need to create a separate account. See details: Wall Street Journal Access

Users with an existing account have the option to connect it to the institutional subscription at the bottom of the "Create Account" page.
Vendor Accessibility Statement: https://www.dowjones.com/accessibility-statement/
Regional Business News
Full text for regional business publications, including titles from Crain Communications. Updated daily.
U.S. Newsstream (Proquest)
Content and archives (1980s-) from national and regional news sources including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, Chicago Tribune, and Minneapolis Star Tribune.