Academic Databases
-
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and theses from the Association of Computing Machines. Full text available from 1991.
-
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new windowApplied Science & Technology Source covers the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines — from acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear engineering.
-
LANL arXiv.org Pre-Print Archive This link opens in a new window
The pre-print archive at the Los Alamos National Laboratory. Started in August 1991, arXiv.org is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, and quantitative biology.
-
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
The major database for mass communications, communication studies, marketing, and related fields. Combined coverage of over 770 titles. Some full text.
-
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Pros and cons essays presenting current and/or controversial issues. Also magazine and newspaper articles, primary sources, and more related to those issues.
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Broad database with both academic and general articles. Many are full text, but some are citation only.
-
Flipster This link opens in a new window
A collection of digital magazines, including Atlantic Monthly, Time, Diverse: Issues in Higher Education, The New Yorker, Rolling Stone, Newsweek, Columbia Journalism Review, Forbes, the National Review, and more.
See more details, see our Flipster Guide.
Newspaper Databases
-
New York Times (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times is a daily newspaper based in New York City. Covers domestic, national, and international news, and publishes opinion pieces, investigative reports, and reviews.
-
Wall Street Journal (Institutional Subscription) This link opens in a new window
Unlimited access to WSJ.com and the WSJ App.
You will need to create a separate account. See details: Wall Street Journal Access
-
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Full text for regional business publications, including titles from Crain Communications. Updated daily.
-
U.S. Newsstream (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowContent and archives (1980s-) from national and regional news sources including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, Chicago Tribune, and Minneapolis Star Tribune.
Finding Information about AI
The world of artificial intelligence is enormous, and as a result it can be difficult to narrow down searches to find information about it in databases, search engines, and on news media websites.
When searching for information about AI, as with searching for any answer to a research question, ask yourself what it is that you are seeking to understand: do you have a question about how a certain type of AI works? Do you want to build a chatbot? Do you have questions about the impact of AI operational costs on the environment or in the economy?
This page contains recommendations for academic databases to start with, as well as sets of keywords to consider. We also have a page listing books in our collections on topics related to AI.
Keywords & Subject Headings by Use Case
There are so many ways to combine keywords to find resources about AI. Below are some common questions with example keywords to help get you started.
| Questions | Example Keywords |
|---|---|
| Interested in general core concepts about AI. |
|
| What is the impact of AI on the environment? |
AI or "artificial intelligence" AND
|
| How accurately can a chatbot cite its sources? |
|
| How is AI used in healthcare or medical research? |
AI or "artificial intelligence" AND
Additional keywords:
MESH Subject Headings:
|
| How can AI be related to mis/disinformation? |
|
