Industry Information
Industry Information
Industry information can be broken down into several categories.
- Industry trends: The outlook for economic activity in the entire industry.
- Industry financial ratios: What the typical corporation in the industry has for performance metrics.
- Corporations within the industry: a list of the players in the industry.
- Industry News: What are late-breaking developments in the industry
Industry Trends
-
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Features industry surveys, data on private and public U.S companies, international businesses, and consumers, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and more.
Accessing Industry Trend Reports in Mergent
-
Search for a company within Mergent Intellect.
-
Pull up the main record for the company.
-
Then click on the tab called "Industry Details."
-
There will be lists of primary and secondary NAICS and SIC codes.
-
Some of these codes will have a Report icon next to them. If there is an icon, you can pull up a report from Dun and Bradstreet giving you current trends in that industry.
-
Business Source Premier - Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window
The Business Searching Interface features Company and Industry Profiles and Country and Market Research Reports. You can also browse by publication types including SWOT analyses, trade publications and magazines.
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, etc. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. Business Source Premier contains PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDF's are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color.
Accessing Industry Reports in Business Source Premier
-
Scroll Down to "Explore Featured Content"
-
Click on Industry Reports
-
Click on Industry Reports by Sector
-
Choose your Sector and Click on it
Industry Financial Ratios
-
Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Provides public and private company and industry information including extensive financial data, stock reports, and more. Use hundreds of data points to generate lists of companies, markets, and executives. Includes an Excel add-in for data analysis.
You must register as a new user using your WSU email to access the data.
Accessing Industry Ratios in Capital IQ:
-
Click on the 'Markets' link in the blue menu bar.
-
In the left-hand menu, click on “Industry” or next to it “Refine.”
-
Click the plus signs to tunnel down to your specific industry.
-
When the particular industry pulls up, there will be a link to 'Key Stats & Ratios' in the left-hand navigation panel.
You can also easily construct ratios for custom peer groups.
Industry News
-
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT, market share, and financial reports.
-
Business Source Premier - Standard Interface This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, etc.
-
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Full text for regional business publications, including titles from Crain Communications. Updated daily.
