Compiled by the Government Documents Roundtable of the American Library Association 

In every US State and the District of Columbia, agencies are creating databases of useful information - information on businesses, licensed professionals, plots of land, even dates of fish stocking.  Since July 2007, librarians and other government information specialists have been working on identifying and annotating these databases in one place. They've chased across fifty state web sites so you don't have to!

The Document Specialists for the states listed below have indicated their state has one or more databases in this subject area. If a state is not listed below it means we do not know of any searchable databases produced by that state government on this subject.

For more databases, like the Earth and the Environment database, visit their State Agency Databases Project home page.

Alabama

• Alabama Register of Landmarks and Heritage

  Browse the map or enter an address or place.

• Alabama Road Conditions

  Search road conditions by route, county, metro area, area, or region.

• Sweet Home Alabama - Alabama History

  Browse events and locations related to the history of Alabama.

• Sweet Home Alabama - Road Trips

  Explore the many amazing road trips Alabama has to offer. Browse by category or region.

Alaska

• Alaska Lake Database (ALDAT)

  Interactive map to let you see what lakes have what fish. Can search by stocking date, management areas and lakes, stocked species and other species.

• Fish Stocking Update Database

  From the website, "This page is provided so you can search our stocking database to find which locations have been stocked, with what species of fish, and when specific locations were stocked." Searchable by area, species and date.

Arkansas

• Arkansas Civil War Sites

  Searchable by name, region, and county.

• Arkansas Register of Historic Places

  Searchable by county, city, name and description.

• Game and Fish Permit Status Check

  Check game and fish permit status and pay for permits.

• Historical Markers in Arkansas Search

  Search by subject, county, location, city, year dedicated, and sponsoring organization.

• National Register of Historic Places in Arkansas

  Searchable by county, city, name and description.

• Park Finder

  Find a state park by zip code, region, park settings, facilities, activities, or park name.

California

• California State Parks Photographic Archives

  A collection of over 200,000 images in the form of slides, negatives and photographic prints, with an additional 150,000 images transferred from various sources. The collections cover a broad range of California subjects including the history of the California State Park System, California's cultural and natural history, recreation, transportation, mining, geology, architecture, agriculture, plants and animals. As of 2014, over 109,000 images have been cataloged as part of the Department’s ongoing conservation efforts. This database currently exists as .pdf files. The files include indexes by park name, subject, the names of fungi, plants and animals, and even an index of campfire songs.

• Interpretive Services Vendors and Contractors

  A database of vendors used by the California State Parks for interpretive services. You can search by company name, or by the type of service, from activity kits to workshops. The vendors are neither endorsed nor recommended by the Department of Parks and Recreation.

• California Agricultural Tourism Directory

  A database of farms and ranches that are open to "agritourism". Searchable by county or by the kind of agricultural activity. Includes a calendar of events.

Colorado

• Find State Wildlife Areas

  Search Wildlife Areas by name or region.

• Parks and Wildlife Video Library

  Browse or search wildlife videos from the Colorado Division of Parks and Wildlife. Watch videos on different species, hunting and fishing topics, and check out the "Video Survival Guide" which gives tips on how to survive in Colorado's back country.

Connecticut

• Dept. of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) events calendar

  Events such as public hearings, discussions, and hikes.

• Find a State Park or Forest

  Click "Find a Park" in the menu on the left side of the page to access an interactive map that shows state parks and forests. From the state Dept. of Environmental Protection (DEEP).

• Visit Connecticut

  Interactive map shows tourist attractions such as amusement parks, beaches, museums, events, and more; the map can also be searched for restaurants and lodging. From the state Office of Tourism.

Delaware

• Locations Directory

  Locate Delaware Fresh (farm markets and vendors); Delaware Polling Places; Delaware Recycling; Delaware What's On (arts); Delaware Libraries; and Delaware Tourism by location.

District of Columbia

• Recreation Centres and Pools

  Find swimming pools, basketball courts, before- and after-school care programs, and other programs at parks and recreation centers in the District of Columbia. Also can find status of projects improvements and permit facilities.

• Washington.DC Portal

  DC's official travel website.

Florida

• Park Listing & Search

  Locate all Florida State Parks and/or trails within a 100-mile radius of a city. You can also search by amenities, activities and whether a site is pet friendly.

• Winning [Lottery] Number Search

  Search for past winning numbers by game and date.

Idaho

• Idaho Outfitters and Guides

  Find a guide for your next outdoor adventure. Search for a specific guide by name or for any guide in the state by type of activity, hunting, fishing, boating, recreation, winter or all guided activities. Each separate form allows for more specific searching and allows limits to particular areas of the state.

Illinois

• Things To Do

  From the Illinois Office of Tourism, this is a database that allows one to search through about 10,400 items to review based on eight different broad subjects (Arts & Culture, History, Sports & Gaming, etc...) based on which subject heading chosen, there are other drop down choices to help narrow options.

Indiana

• Indiana Recreation Interactive Map

  From the site, "This map includes Indiana DNR sites and trails that are open for public recreation. Click or tap a site to view details. Use the search bar to find a DNR property or trail, activity, county, or address. Enter the name and search. Click or tap a result to zoom to its location and view details."
  
  Searchable by site name, type, and county. You can then click on the site on the map to see more details (phone number, website, directions, and activities). Sample Search: State Parks (type) in Brown (County).

Kansas

• Travel Kansas Calendar of Events

  This Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks & Tourism database can be searched by day, week, month, city and/or category.

• KanDrive Portal

  This site offers several options for searching current road construction, weather conditions, construction areas and travel speeds as well as webcams throughout the state.

Kentucky

• Hunting Season Date Search

  Searchable listing of hunting season by species and date.

• Kentucky Historical Markers Database

  Searchable by county, keyword, subject or marker number.

Louisiana

• Louisiana Tourism Press Room

  The Louisiana Department of Culture, Recreation, and Tourism Press Room offers travel attraction overviews, fact sheets, “what’s new” updates, a list of festivals and events, and points of contact for individual project assistance. There is also an Almanac with state facts and statistics and a glossary of Louisiana terms.

Maine

• Find Parks & Lands

  Comprehensive search of Maine's state parks, historic sites, public lands and multi-use trails. Search by region, activity, facility, or proximity to a given location. Includes Google Maps based interface.

Maryland

• Maryland's interactive tour map

  From the website, "A travel planning tool to discover fun and exciting places to visit, and see where they are on the map." One can search for heritage areas, historic places, scenic byways, driving tours, lodging information and much more.

• Maryland State Park Directory

  "Click on the region below to view a map of the parks in that region. If you are not able to see the map, use the alphabetical listing of parks below, or please view Access for All for a list of facilities and programs that are accessible to visitors with disabilities." -- from the website.

Massachusetts

• MassParks

  Find a park by region, name, or recreational activity.

• Visit MA

  Site includes various databases that visitors can use to search for local MA dining, activities, places to stay, and more. Includes the interactive Visit Widget tool that can be used to map out travel plans.

Michigan

• Michigan Beach Guard

  The Beach Guard database reports on water quality tests done at many of the public beaches throughout Michigan. Closures and advisories are reported at this page. Users can drill down, by county, to specific beaches and find a history of water tests performed on each of the beaches.

Minnesota

• No identified searchable databases in this area. Use the "email me" link to suggest an agency produced database.

• Minnesota Fall Color Watch

• Explore Minnesota 

• Minnesota Lake Finder

• Fishes of Minnesota

  Minnesota's game fish listed by family type: catfish, bass, perch, pike, sunfish and trout. Each type of fish has a link to further information on the fish.

Missouri

• Active Advisories

  Search by activity or park to find active advisories pertaining to Missouri State Parks.

• Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map

  View a map and lists of states that practice reciprocity with Missouri in regards to concealed carry.

• Find a Park

  Select from a list of options to find state parks or historic sites that fit your criteria.

• Find Canoe Outfitters

  Search or browse by river to find local canoe outfitters.

• Find Great Places

  Search for natural areas around Missouri owned or managed by the Department of Conservation. Search by activity, facility, natural feature, area name, location, and if handicap accessible.

• Missouri State Park Beach Status

  Look up the water quality at all designated swimming beaches in the Missouri State Park system (weekly basis during recreational season).

• Park and Site Status Map

  Use this map to view temporary closures and updates on trails, roads, and buildings before visiting Missouri's State Parks. Search by site, trail or address.

• Regatta Search

  Search by date or location for tournaments/events

• State Parks and Historic Sites Places to Go

  Searchable by state park, state historic site, and historic site tours.

• Touring Performers Directory

  The Missouri Arts Council provides a searchable directory of Missouri artists looking to tour and perform around Missouri.

• Trails of Missouri State Parks

  Use this map to find trails at State Parks and Historic Sites. Indicates surface type, usage, and blaze markings.

• Volunteer in Parks Program

  Find volunteer opportunities at a State Park near you. Use the Better Impact tool to search by site, interests, or availability.

• Where to Play Lottery Search

  Find current retailers of Missouri Lottery games by city or ZIP code.

Montana

• Montana Place Names

  "This traveler’s guide, based on the places found on the 2003 Montana highway map, explores the origins of more than 1100 Montana place names, hundreds of geographic features and historical locations."

• Traveler Information Map

  Search for directions and road conditions.

• Fishing Access Sites

  Search by name, nearby town, region, by lake, by stream, ADA accessibility

Nebraska

• Campus Recreation--University of Nebraska Campuses

  Campus Recreation is committed to enhancing the educational experience and promoting lifelong wellness through excellent recreation programs, services and facilities.

• Nebraska Game and Parks Commission

  Among the many duties of the Commission and staff are establishing hunting seasons and regulations for game species; managing Nebraska’s state parks, state recreation areas and other public lands; managing the fisheries at numerous public lakes across the state; helping landowners establish good conservation practices on their land; working to conserve Nebraska’s threatened and endangered species; and providing hunter and boater education, as well as other resources for those who wish to learn to enjoy the outdoors. We are committed to the idea that time spent outdoors, whether it be hunting, fishing, hiking, biking, bird-watching, canoeing, camping or one of the many other outdoor activities Nebraska has to offer, is time well spent.

• Nebraska Hiking and Biking Trails and Maps

  Looking for the best Bike trails around Nebraska?
  Find the top rated bike trails in Nebraska, whether you're looking for an easy short bike trail or a long bike trail, you'll find what you're looking for. Click on a bike trail below to find trail descriptions, trail maps, photos, and reviews.

• Nebraska State Recreation Areas

  Enjoy camping, picnicking, hiking, fishing, boating, swimming and more at one of Nebraska’s great State Recreation Areas (SRA).

• Nebraska Tourism Commission

  The 77,000 square miles that make up Nebraska are home to a diverse range of terrain. Unique trails and scenic byways are laced throughout the state. Through the rolling Sandhills, prairies, forests and bluffs the sights and views are spectacular. Our state is also home to many national monuments and a number of historic parks. It’s pretty safe to say, Nebraska is a one-of-a-kind wonder.

New Hampshire

• NH Water Access Sites Map

  Search by town and/or water body to get name, ownership, type of access, parking, location, fee, and more.

• State Park Finder (NH)

  Search by type of activity and/or amenity or browse parks by name. Results include location, phone number, activities, amenities, operating schedule, and pet policy.

New Jersey

• Recreational and Open Space Inventory

  From the site, "the ROSI lists all Green Acres-funded properties ("funded parkland") as well as all other lands held for conservation and/or recreation purposes at the time the Local Unit last received funding from Green Acres ("unfunded parkland")."

• VisitNJ

  This official tourism website allows you to search for options by category, city, interest, and season.

North Dakota

• Attractions Finder

  Looking for something to do while staying in North Dakota? Let this database help you find casinos, fishing, fall foliage viewing, historic sites, wineries and much more. Records have address, location and hours plus seasonal information.

• Events and Festivals

  Whether it's Folkfest, Horsefest, or Høstfest, search by any combinations of city, vicinity, category, name or date.

Ohio

• Find an Ohio State Park

  Click on the park icons on the map to learn more about the unique features and getaways each has to offer.

• State Park Reservations

  Make a reservation 24 hours a day. Select the state park type campsites, getaway rentals, cottages or group camp. Reservations can be made up to 6 months in advance for camp sites and getaway rentals and up to 1 year for cottages. Only credit card payments are accepted through this site.

• Year Round Events

  Event calendar that includes event date, location, time, price and links to web pages. Also search by keyword.

Oklahoma

• Oklahoma Regions

  Click on the interactive map or on a city name to learn about each region and/or city's distinct flavor and images that make each place a great destination site.

• Things to Do in Oklahoma

  Browse by category or search by keyword. There's also an advanced search that allows you to search by city, region, interest, highway, and keyword.

Oregon

• Explore Cities & Regions of Oregon

  Discover more about Oregon by searching by town or region of the state. Provided by the Oregon Tourism Commission.

• Find a State Park

  Search for recreation options throughout the state. Search by type of campsite or yurt, beach access, horse or hiking trails, setting (forest, desert, waterfalls, etc), events or ADA accessibility.

• Places to Ride an ATV

  Find locations that allow all-terrain-vehicle use. Search by county,region,season,class of ATV, and availability of camping, parking and restrooms.

• Places To Stay

  Search for hotels, B&B's, resorts, RV parks and other lodging options in Oregon, courtesy of the Tourism Bureau.

Pennsylvania

• Food in Pennsylvania

  Where can I go to eat and drink in Pennsylvania? Everything from Philadelphia cheese steaks, Pennsylvania craft beers, and tours for all kinds of foodies

• Pennsylvania Outdoor Adventures

  Where to go in Pennsylvania to enjoy the great outdoors!

• State Forests

  Find one of the State Forests by district; interactive map

• State Parks

  Find parks, make reservations for campsites, cabins, picnic pavilions and whitewater boating launch times online

South Carolina

• S.C. Beach Guide

  Map-based advisory information

• South Carolina Traveler: Destinations

  Lists points of interest by category, with a special emphasis on sites within the South Carolina National Heritage Corridor.

• South Carolina's State Trails

  Lists trails across the state by location, usage and description.

South Dakota

• South Dakota Department of Tourism Web Portal

  The Department is made up of two divisions: South Dakota Tourism and the South Dakota Arts Council. Together, we’re here to serve the people of South Dakota and all who come to meet our Great Faces and explore our Great Places.

Tennessee

• TN Park Finder

Texas

• Hunting Seasons

  One can search for hunting seasons by county or by animal and category.

• Texas Highway Conditions

  Check for highway closures, construction, traffic and more.

• Texas Production Directory

  This directory is provided by the Texas Film Commission. One can search the directory for talented Texas freelance individuals, companies and associations from the film, television, commercial, video game and animation industries.

• Texas State Parks

  Find a State Park in Texas.

Virginia

Washington

• Recreation and Conservation Project Search

  Search for Recreation and Conservation grant projects (1964-present) from 5 organizations such as the Recreation and Conservation Funding Board and the Salmon Recovery Funding Board. Search criteria are name of organization, project type, status, number, name, and keyword. Results include project details and description, worksites, milestones, and report attachments.

• State Park Reservation System

  Allows online reservations for cabins, yurts, campsites, and other facilities in more than 60 Washington state parks with a search for available dates and sites.

West Virginia

• West Virginia Trail Inventory

Wisconsin

• Find a park, forest, recreation area or trail

  Find a state park, forest, recreation area or trail by name, by map or by activity. Search options include dropdown menus or a clickable map.

• Wisconsin Events Calendar

  Sponsored by the Wisconsin Department of Tourism. Users can search by date, location, distance, and type of event. Lists community festivals, fairs, sporting events and art shows throughout the state.

Wyoming

• Wyoming Monuments and Markers Search

  This database is a product of the Wyoming Monuments and Markers Program; a cooperative effort among the Wyoming Department of State Parks and Cultural Resources, the Wyoming Department of Transportation, Wyoming Office of Tourism, Wyoming Tribes, local governments, and private individuals and organizations.