There's a renewed sense of excitement and energy in the Krueger Library! A range of well-attended and engaging events welcomed new and returning students, faculty, staff, and community members. Student use of research support services, article and book requests, and news database access has all seen a noticeable uptick as well.
Fall 2025 Events
Welcome week:
- Library Open House
- Game & Craft Night
Great North Star Read Together
Over 70 people engaged with our booth, and with informational materials from our library, the Winona Public Library, and the Winona Historical Society.
Button Making Pop-Ups
We have finally been able to repair our button-maker. It was very popular among students and young family members during the Great North Star Read Together. For our Halloween Pop-Up, we had 18 interactions. Students enjoyed the process, so we hope to offer more button-making pop-ups in the future.
Open Access Week Information Sessions
Open Access (OA) week was a good time to trial-run having more “open” sessions that anyone on campus can attend. Faculty from across Colleges signed up and joined us to learn about open access publishing models, curating scholarly profiles and IDs, and how to get started with Pressbooks. These events were offered hybrid, and this is the first time they are offered. With faculty interest, it will be worth running them (or similar) scholarly communications open sessions in the future.
Library Services and Usage
Reference Services (Research Help)
Overall reference questions rose by 6.5% so far this fall. Most of this was driven by an increase in walk-in, face-to-face reference support, which rose by 35%.
Access of Subscription News Websites
While we do not have data specifically for Fall 2025, data from AY 2025 shows a significant increase from the previous year in access to institutional subscriptions to major news outlets. Most notably, the New York Times increased by 108% and the Wall Street Journal by 56.4%. These surges may be attributable to several factors, such as faculty assignments and recommendations.
Resource Sharing (Interlibrary Loan) Requests
The number of Resource Sharing (Interlibrary Loan) requests from July to October of 2025 was up 66.5% over the same period the year before. We are still reviewing data to better understand this trend. It may be attributable, at least in part, to the loss of some database subscriptions. It may also be related to increased awareness of interlibrary loans.
Coming Soon: Annual Report for AY 2025
The library’s annual report for AY 2025 will be completed by semester’s end and published in Open River.
In this so-called “Intelligence Age,” generative artificial intelligence (AI) has taken root in nearly every sector of daily life. From inside the library, one change we see is how the sprezzatura of “just Google it” is transforming in real time to “just ask ChatGPT.” As if it was ever easy for every person to equally and accessibly “just Google it!” Information Age, Age of Intelligence, Age of Next World-Changing Disruptive Force of Technology—professionals in the library, in classrooms, and across campuses adapt. For as long as the foundations of academic freedom persist, we can even argue while we adapt.
Learning to write effective prompts to encourage a chatbot to hallucinate less or sound less painfully editorial still requires that—learning. It is easy to fall into a false sense of security and confidence when new technologies percolate through our homes, work, and hobbies. But, even in those instances where we mindlessly pop a question into Google about when a coffee shop closes, there are numerous processes that we have had to internalize to even send that query, let alone interpret the results the search engine returns. The introduction of generative AI into our information ecosystems forces us to choose between being vulnerable about what we do not know, or dismissive about the impact of new tools on populations already overloaded with information.
Libraries are not new to changes in information infrastructure: a major responsibility of academic library professionals is to have their finger on the pulse of information landscapes, so that they can help patrons meet information needs even in the most tumultuous of times. When new tools stack on top of, integrate within, or threaten to replace existing search and discovery infrastructure, faculty and students do not need to hack through unpaved terrain alone.
With all that said, we want to provide an overview of what we at the library have been doing to chart our way, so that we can better assist our patrons:
Internal professional development
One aspect of generative AI that can frustrate even its most enthusiastic supporters is the speed at which tools change, and how changes add to the inconsistency of their outputs. Librarians have been at work learning about how prompt engineering impacts outputs, how guardrails can persist across product applications and can impact downstream uses in academic databases, and how complications of AI in search and discovery go beyond hallucinated citations. Generative AI has sent ripples throughout the fields of library and information science, and so librarians here and elsewhere are still navigating how to integrate AI literacy into an already complex suite of (meta)literacies (e.g. information, visual, news, media, and digital literacies).
Curated information resources, instruction, and information literacy
A LibGuide, also called a Library Guide, is one of the most common types of curated information resource. In addition to our Artificial Intelligence (AI) for Research guide, which has seen significant use, librarians have needed to and will continue to update guides to reflect changes in course and discipline learning expectations. Our library website is also constantly being updated to accommodate frequently asked questions and provide more insight into effective searching in our databases.
For many, providing library sessions and information literacy instruction may now require additional discussion about how to differentiate between traditional algorithmic features and generative AI, as well as how to dig deeper into the authenticity of sources. Library instruction sessions already need to cover a lot of information over short timeframes, and so the need for library instruction time could continue to grow as additional search tools are added.
Behind the scenes, our Front Desk has noticed that more students are coming to ask for Blue Books for written testing in classes. Interlibrary loan requests show that there is considerable interest in the use and impact of AI across disciplines.
Review of our library catalog and database features
Nearly every major database vendor has leaped onto the research assistant and AI-driven feature bandwagon. Each new feature needs to be vetted and considered by librarians and library staff, and so far most vendors have provided the option to opt-in or opt-out of them. It is uncertain how long individual libraries will have control over these features, and how long they will be available without additional costs. New integrations of generated summaries and research assistants are not limited to discrete academic databases – they have also been developed for the Central Discovery Index (CDI) connected to our OneSearch, which pulls metadata from across many full text databases. The library is still investigating the possible impact of these tools before fully integrating and providing full access to them. Access to the Research Assistant tool in OneSearch is currently limited for testing.
Note that while a Natural Language Search (NLS) feature is available in most EBSCOHost databases that we subscribe to, the switch on the user interface is auto-set to “off” when accessing the databases through our proxy. Patrons will need to manually select it to turn it on. If you use eLibraryMinnesota (ELM) databases through their own portal, however, that switch may be autoset to “on” and will need to be manually unselected if needed.
Support in publication review and intellectual property/copyright
Hallucinated citations are only the tip of the iceberg as far as the disruption of AI on scholarly publishing goes. Professionals involved on editorial and advisory boards for scholarly journals and monographs now bear additional burden for developing policies around AI usage and vetting submissions to see whether they meet standards for the publication. AI checkers and detector tools can be unreliable. Librarians have thus worked with faculty to help them deeply evaluate citations, and to attempt to access cited sources—should those sources exist. It is often clear after extensive searching when AI has been used to conglomerate information into convincing, but yet hallucinated citations. It is no longer uncommon to find entirely AI-generated submissions being sent to journals. Librarians are also keeping up-to-date on the state of predatory journals and papermills, and how AI is being used to accelerate their pace.
Staying involved
It has been great to see the speed at which our campus community has come together to talk about the impacts of generative AI on research and education. Librarians have had the opportunity to join our colleagues to present at the Symposium on AI in Education (hosted by the College of Education), in the WSU AI Discussion Group (coordinated by Larry Schrenk, Finance), and at panel discussions (Research and Creative Achievement Day, 2025). Holding such forums on campus is important, and we hope to continue contributing to these conversations, and to making more space for them.
In face of budget cuts that threaten our access to resources and our ability to maintain the staff needed to share them with our community, we still aim to serve students, faculty, and community members. As a whole, the library “profession is alert to both promise and peril” in generative AI. Even as “just Google it” becomes “just ask ChatGPT,” patrons can trust that the library will continue to offer support while traversing this rocky terrain. Librarians and library staff at WSU “wear many hats,” and so your patience is also appreciated as we weigh options, prepare instruction materials and opportunities, and work to advocate for our services.
Upcoming Event:
If you want to know more about current AI-driven tools that are either implemented in academic databases or are under consideration for implementation, please join librarians for an update session at 11 AM-12 PM on November 19th, 2025 (in-person and over Zoom). Registration is required. We want to hear from you about your expectations for students who use academic databases, about language you may use in your syllabus to make those expectations clear, and about the impact AI-powered features have—and are already having—on student (meta)literacies.