WSU Retention List Stories

Some of the books on WSU’s retention list deal with geological formations found in the local area. The Karst geology of the region sometimes amplifies issues with groundwater contamination.

Sweeting, Marjorie Mary. Karst Geomorphology. Benchmark papers in geology; 59. Stroudsburg, PA: Hutchinson Ross, 1981.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

This past Friday was Albert Einstein’s 146^th birthday. Einstein is so popular in academic libraries that none of our biographies of him are on the Krueger Library retention list. However, a collection of his letters with fellow Nobel-prize-winner Max Born is on our retention list.

Einstein, Albert, Max Born, and Hedwig Born. The Born-Einstein Letters: Friendship, Politics, and Physics in Uncertain Times … with Commentaries by Max Born. Houndmills, UK: Macmillan, 2005.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Today is Pi Day, the date that is closest to the value of the mathematical constant Pi (3.14159…). Mathematicians are excited about this year. 2025 is a perfect square: it is 45 squared. The number 45 itself is a special number. It is one of the “triangular numbers.” That means that, starting at one, a sequence of natural numbers sum to it. In this case, 1 + 2 + 3 + 4 + 5 + 6 + 7 + 8 + 9 = 45. Because of these two facts, there is a cornucopia of curious mathematical expressions that are equivalent to the number 2025, such as this one: 1³ + 2³ + 3³ + 4³ + 5³ + 6³ + 7³ +8³ + 9³ = 2025.

The last year that had these mathematical properties was the year 1296. Such a year will not come again until the year 3025. Enjoy it while you can, math nerds!

The branch of mathematics that explores triangular numbers is Number Theory. One book on the Krueger Library retention list which discusses triangular numbers is:

Rademacher, Hans. Topics in Analytic Number Theory. Berlin: Springer-Verlag, 1973. 

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

(Credit for pointing out to me these mathematical details goes to Paul Weiner, the retired Chair of the Math Department at St. Mary’s University, and to his number theory chums.)

We have already had several stories from the retention list which featured WSU faculty (Elizabeth Oness, Cal Fremling, Robin DeVinney, Brian Aldrich, etc.) Here are two more titles on the WSU retention list by current and former WSU faculty.

Holmes, Barbara D. Dissertation Development Strategies: A Doctoral Student Resource. Lakewood, CA: Avid Readers Publishing Group, 2010.

Daniel, Ajit K. Voices of Nations: A Comparative Analysis of Three International Radio News Editorial Orientations: Voice of America, All India Radio, and British Broadcasting Corporation. Thesis (Ph.D)--Union Institute of Cincinnati, 1995.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.