WSU Retention List Stories - Research Hub at Winona State University

For everyone who wants to put on a classroom skit to demonstrate a concept in business law, there is a book for you on the Krueger Library retention list. “To be or to litigate?” … now that’s a question!

Cordell, Christobel M. Dramatizing Business Law. Portland, Me: J.W. Walch, 1965.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Recent Posts

Story Ninety-Eight: Kevin Possin

Emeritus Professor Kevin Possin taught critical thinking in the Philosophy Department at Winona State. One former student said that it was the hardest 100-level course he had ever taken.Possin, Kevin, and Craig Hansen. Self-Defense: A Student Guide to Writing Position Papers. Winona, MN: Critical Thinking Lab, 2002.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Ninety-Seven: Photography Books with Actual Pictures

Last week’s story featured books on the Krueger Library retention list that are reprints of seminal works from the early history of photography. But they had no pictures! Here are two books in the photography section of the retention list that actually have pictures.Voss, Frederick. Women of Our Time: An Album of Twentieth-Century Photographs. National Portrait Gallery, Smithsonian Institution, 2002. (photograph of Fannie Lou Hamer)Porciello, Michael. Graphis Photo Annual 2003: An International Annual of Photography. New York: Graphis, 2002. (photograph called “Office Space for Rent”)Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Ninety-Six: History of Photography (at Winona State)

When I was offered the job at Winona State in 1990, I mentioned to someone who was a professional photographer that I was moving to Minnesota. She said she had almost attended Winona State, because at the time, it was one of only two colleges in the United States to offer a bachelor’s degree in photography.Due to declining enrollment and budget cuts during the 1980s, Winona State discontinued the major and closed the Photography Department. (The Communication and Media Department still has a photography minor.) As part of that legacy, some of the books on the Krueger Library retention list deal with photography, such as these reprints of some of the earliest studies of this cutting-edge technology (of the mid-19th century).Hunt, Robert. Researches on Light. London: Longman, 1844. Reprinted New York: Arno Press, 1973.The Wonders of Light and Shadow. London: Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge, 1851. Reprinted New York: Arno Press, 1973.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Ninety-Five: Local, yet International: John and Pat Lucas

John Lucas was from a prominent Winona family (as in Prentiss-Lucas Hall). He studied literature and was a professor of English at Carleton College in Northfield. He and his wife Pat spent their summers in Europe and collected a wide range of books. When John passed away, Pat donated many of those books to the Krueger Library. John and Pat Lucas focused their collecting efforts on the early 20th century modernists, both in literature and the visual arts.When the collection was donated, I personally assisted with its evaluation. In the second of these two books, I found a letter from the translator to John and Pat thanking them for providing the funds for the translation from English into Italian.Picasso / par Christian Zervos. Paris: Fernand Hazan, 1949.Berryman, John. Omaggio a Mistress Bradstreet. Prefazione, traduzione e note di Sergio Perosa. Torino: G. Einaudi, 1969.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Ninety-Two: Contract Law, the Musical