WSU Retention List Stories - Research Hub at Winona State University

Shelley, Percy Bysshe, and Stephen C Behrendt. Zastrozzi: A Romance; St. Irvyne, or, The Rosicrucian: A Romance. Peterborough, Ontario: Broadview Press, 2002.

Shaw, Debra Benita. Women, Science, and Fiction: The Frankenstein Inheritance. Houndmills, Hampshire: Palgrave, 2000.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Recent Posts

Story Ninety-Three: Some Long-Forgotten Books and a More Memorable One

The Krueger Library retention list includes some scarcely-held novels by the famed poet Percy Bysshe Shelley. It also has a book that discusses the legacy of a long-forgotten story that his nineteen-year-old lover and soon-to-be wife drafted one summer when she was inspired by a ghost-story-writing challenge. Everyone still quotes Zastrozzi, but no one remembers … Frankenstein!Shelley, Percy Bysshe, and Stephen C Behrendt. Zastrozzi: A Romance; St. Irvyne, or, The Rosicrucian: A Romance. Peterborough, Ontario: Broadview Press, 2002.Shaw, Debra Benita. Women, Science, and Fiction: The Frankenstein Inheritance. Houndmills, Hampshire: Palgrave, 2000. Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Ninety-Two: Contract Law, the Musical

For everyone who wants to put on a classroom skit to demonstrate a concept in business law, there is a book for you on the Krueger Library retention list. “To be or to litigate?” … now that’s a question!Cordell, Christobel M. Dramatizing Business Law. Portland, Me: J.W. Walch, 1965. Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Ninety-One: Hrotsvit, the Musical

For all of you fans of Hrotsvit von Gandersheim—the medieval nun who was perhaps the first female playwright from what is today Germany—one of the books on the Krueger Library retention list is a monograph of essays about her and her works. The final essay discusses her influence on the 20th century novelist John Kennedy Toole.Hrotsvit of Gandersheim: rara avis in Saxonia? a collection of essays / compiled and edited by Katharina M. Wilson. Ann Arbor, Mich: Medieval and Renaissance Collegium, 1987.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Nine: Lean Management

Originally posted March 27,2024Winona State has had faculty in both Leadership Education and Business Administration who have been interested in Lean Manufacturing and Lean Management ideas. Well-known titles in leadership, such as Bolman’s Reframing Organizations, are not on the retention list, but several books about Lean Management are.Emiliani, Bob. Real Lean Volume Two: Critical Issues and Opportunities in Lean Management. Kensington, Conn: The Center for Lean Business Management, LLC, 2007.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....