WSU Retention List Stories - Research Hub at Winona State University

Below are two books about the Mississippi River which are on Winona State’s retention list. One is a discussion of the history of European exploration when the area was claimed by France, and one a memoir of a more contemporary river boat captain.

Peyser, Joseph L. Letters from New France: The Upper Country, 1686-1783. University of Illinois Press, 1992.

Hillman, Norman. One Man and the Mighty Mississippi: A Sixty-Year Adventure on the Mississippi and Ohio Rivers. Great River Publishing, Heritage Press, 2001.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Recent Posts

Story Sixty-Nine: From the Annals of Poorly Chosen Book Titles: Joking about Incest

Some of the books on the Krueger Library’s retention list have titles that some readers might consider cringe-worthy. Here is our first candidate.White, William L. Incest in the Organizational Family: The Ecology of Burnout in Closed Systems. Bloomington, Ill: Lighthouse Training Institute, 1986.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Sixty-Eight: Notable Books in the Sciences

In retention story #5 from last February, I mentioned that most of the books on our retention list are not considered especially notable by scholars. In that retention story, I highlighted two books that were both notable and on our retention list. They were from the humanities and social sciences. Here are two more examples—one from chemistry and one from physics—that are both notable and on the retention list.Goldwhite, Harold. Introduction to Phosphorus Chemistry. Cambridge University Press, 1981.Wasserman, Robert. Tensors and Manifolds: With Applications to Mechanics and Relativity. New York: Oxford University Press, 1992. Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Sixty-Seven: Texts on Opposite Sides of the Spectrum of Economic Philosophy

Books on both extremes of the spectrum of economic theory are represented on the Krueger Library’s retention list, from advocates of unregulated free markets to the founders of Communism.West, E. G. Adam Smith: The Man and His Works. Liberty Press, 1976.Marx, Karl, and Friedrich Engels. The Revolution of 1848-49; Articles from the Neue Rheinische Zeitung. International Publishers, 1972.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection. ...

Story Sixty-Six: Tune in, Turn on, Get that prescription filled

In the early 1960s, psychedelic drugs were used to treat patients. In the later 1960s, activists promoted their wide-spread use without medical supervision; they were made illegal; and they were placed on the same drug schedule as heroin. Now, there is a renewed interest in exploring their therapeutic qualities. This early text, featuring Timothy Leary no less, is on the Krueger Library retention list, … and you can read it without your insurance insisting on a co-pay.Leary, Timothy Francis, Ralph Metzner, and Gunther M Weil. The Psychedelic Reader; Selected from the Psychedelic Review. New York: Citadel Press, 1965.Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection....

Story Twenty-Six: The Mighty Mississippi