Links to databases and websites that have information about the countries of the world.
Use these databases to find the best articles from Biology journals.
Some databases provide article citations, but not full text. The Find It! button will link to full text across databases. If full text is not available, request it via Interlibrary Loan.
- CIA World Factbook
Prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency for the use of U.S. Government officials. Each country profile includes brief information about the country's history, geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, transnational issues.
- Background Notes: U.S. Department of State
Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.Updated and revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the Department's regional bureaus.
- Labor Statistics Database
This database, provided by the International Labour Office, Department of Statistics, offers international data on employment and labor.
- Export.gov Internaitonal Market Research
A site from the U.S. Department of Commerce that provides information for U.S.-based businesses to export to other nations. Some materials are restricted to registered businesses, but most directory information and some market analysis reports are freely available.
- Banking and Debt Statistics
This site from the Bank for International Settlement provides the latest international data available, mainly from creditor sources, on banking statistics, securities, derivatives, foreign exchange, and external debt for all countries worldwide. Reports are available in PDF form and as spreadsheets.
- Facts on International Security Trends
The site from SIPRI provides statistics by country on a wide variety of topics. They include: Military expenditures, Arms Production and Trade Memberships, Agreements, and Events, Conflicts and Peace Keeping Activities, and Political System and Country Indicators
- GlobalEDGE Sources by Country
Portal for many trusted links to information and learning resources. From the Center for International Business Education and Research at Michigan State University.
- Doing Business, World Bank
The Doing Business Project provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 185 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level.
- Country Studies
Book length studies of countries from the Library of Congress. Updated very infrequently. Many are quite old. These studies offer an analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, and political institutions of the country in question.
- WSU Library International Statistics
The WSU Library's list of links to websites that provide statistical data on many countries in the world.
- Colorado, University of, Foreign Information by Country
Colorado provides a high quality list of links to information about each country in the world. It has links to the web sites from: the government itself, the U.S. government, international organizations such as the U.N., commercial web sites such as the BBC.