WSU Retention List Stories

Public health and community health are taught by faculty in several departments in the College of Nursing and Health Sciences. One of the books on the retention list is a catalog of public health campaigns from around the world collected by the World Health Organization. 

World Health Organization. Public Health Campaigns: Getting the Message Across. Geneva, Switzerland: World Health Organization, 2009.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

In the early 1960s, psychedelic drugs were used to treat patients. In the later 1960s, activists promoted their wide-spread use without medical supervision; they were made illegal; and they were placed on the same drug schedule as heroin. Now, there is a renewed interest in exploring their therapeutic qualities. This early text, featuring Timothy Leary no less, is on the Krueger Library retention list, … and you can read it without your insurance insisting on a co-pay.

Leary, Timothy Francis, Ralph Metzner, and Gunther M Weil. The Psychedelic Reader; Selected from the Psychedelic Review. New York: Citadel Press, 1965.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Four years ago, on December 8, 2020, mass vaccinations began to combat the COVID-19 virus. Worldwide, millions of people died of COVID (https://tinyurl.com/5n8thkfs). Without the vaccine, millions more would have died (https://tinyurl.com/mr322jdd).

Sometimes a book is rare because, at the time it was written, its ideas were considered both wrong and marginal. One book for which WSU gets interlibrary loan requests from around the world is a book that was in on the ground floor of spreading fears about the safety and efficacy of vaccines. While I would not recommend you adopting the views promoted by this book, if you wanted to study the history of the anti-vaccine movement, this book should not be overlooked.

McBean, Eleanora. The Poisoned Needle: Supressed Facts about Vaccination. New ed., Health Research, 1974.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Because the national accreditation board for our Nursing Department has in the past counted against our review if we had out-of-date editions of nursing texts on our shelves, we have chosen to exclude most of our nursing books from the retention list. However, we did keep on the list some titles related to the history of the profession.

Mowbray, Patricia. Florence Nightingale and the Viceroys: A Campaign for the Health of the Indian People. London: Haus, 2008.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.