WSU Retention List Stories

Islamic tradition takes a dim view of charging interest on borrowed money. (The pejorative term from European history is “usury.”) However, much of the global financial system is based on a system of charging interest on loaned money, whether it is with mortgages or bonds. Some of the books on the Krueger Library retention list, such as the one below, discuss methods of managing financial systems without charging interest on debt.

Rudnyckyj, Daromir. Beyond Debt: Islamic Experiments in Global Finance. Chicago: The University of Chicago Press, 2019.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

The original volumes called The American State Papers, which were published by the US federal government, were published between the 1830s and the 1860s. Those original publications were revised and republished in the 1960s and 1970s. 

The Krueger Library has several of the revised ASP subject series. The series which deals with the public finances of the federal government from 1789 until 1860 is complete enough (at 32 volumes) that the Krueger Library was assigned to have them on our Shared Print retention list. Therefore, if you want to dig into the early finances of the United States of America, grab your suntan lotion and come on down to Winona, the Miami of Minnesota.

The New American State Papers: Public Finance. Wilmington, Del: Scholarly Resources, 1972. 

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Books on both extremes of the spectrum of economic theory are represented on the Krueger Library’s retention list, from advocates of unregulated free markets to the founders of Communism.

West, E. G. Adam Smith: The Man and His Works. Liberty Press, 1976.

Marx, Karl, and Friedrich Engels. The Revolution of 1848-49; Articles from the Neue Rheinische Zeitung. International Publishers, 1972.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

For those distraught by the downward slide of the stock markets over the last two days, this book on the Krueger Library retention list might help (or make it worse). Understanding the psychological mechanisms related to financial markets might help foster a sense of stoic calm.

Cohen, David. Fear, Greed and Panic: The Psychology of the Stock Market. New York: Wiley, 2001.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

As we approach the Labor Day holiday, below are two of the many titles related to labor issues and strikes on the WSU retention list.

Manning, Thomas G., editor. The Chicago Strike of 1894; Industrial Labor in the Late Nineteenth Century. Holt, 1960.

Sulzberger, Cyrus Leo. Sit down with John L. Lewis. Random House, 1938.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Emeritus Professor Brian Aldrich (Sociology) devoted considerable research to the issue of housing in less developed economies. Both of his books, which are now only available for purchase in India, are on WSU’s retention list.

Aldrich, Brian C., and Ranvinder Singh Sandhu. Housing in Asia: Problems and Perspectives. Rawat Publications, 1990.

Aldrich, Brian C., and Ranvinder Singh Sandhu, editors. Housing for the Urban Poor in Developing Countries. Rawat Publications, 2015.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Among the many texts on Winona State’s retention list which deal with labor issues, there are two pamphlets from the National Museum of Wales that deal with the history of child labor.

Evans, Richard Meurig. Children in the Mines, 1840-42. Museum Schools Service, National Museum of Wales, 1972.

Evans, Richard Meurig. Children in the Iron Industry, 1840-42. Museum Schools Service, National Museum of Wales, 1972.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Every library collection has its unique qualities. The patterns of books in our retention list demonstrate where our collection differs from others. Within the first thousand volumes of our retention list labelled, the longest streak of consecutive separate titles (not just volumes of a series, such as in story three) was five, and those books deal with the economy of Bangladesh. Not only does that shelf have a run of five titles, but it has three additional retention titles. Apparently, our campus has had a strong interest historically in the economy of Bangladesh, stronger than other campuses in Minnesota. Below is one title in that streak. Note: this record run was ultimately matched by musical scores by Joaquín Rodrígo (see story twenty), and will likely be exceeded during further labeling.

Seabrook, Jeremy. Freedom Unfinished: Fundamentalism and Popular Resistance in Bangladesh Today. London: Zed Books, 2001.