WSU Retention List Stories

Some of the books on the Krueger Library’s retention list have titles that some readers might consider cringe-worthy. Here is our first candidate.

White, William L. Incest in the Organizational Family: The Ecology of Burnout in Closed Systems. Bloomington, Ill: Lighthouse Training Institute, 1986.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

For those distraught by the downward slide of the stock markets over the last two days, this book on the Krueger Library retention list might help (or make it worse). Understanding the psychological mechanisms related to financial markets might help foster a sense of stoic calm.

Cohen, David. Fear, Greed and Panic: The Psychology of the Stock Market. New York: Wiley, 2001.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Winona State offers a Master’s Degree in Accounting. The Krueger Library supports the program with books such as this title on our retention list.

Ruppel, Warren. GAAP for Governments 2012: Interpretation and Application of Generally Accepted Accounting Principles for State and Local Governments. Hoboken, N.J: John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2012.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

As we approach the Labor Day holiday, below are two of the many titles related to labor issues and strikes on the WSU retention list.

Manning, Thomas G., editor. The Chicago Strike of 1894; Industrial Labor in the Late Nineteenth Century. Holt, 1960.

Sulzberger, Cyrus Leo. Sit down with John L. Lewis. Random House, 1938.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Winona State faculty who work on sustainability issues have requested books on a wide variety of subjects, including the global availability of water and renewable energy. Several of those titles are scarcely-held in Minnesota and are on our retention list.

Renzetti, Steven. The Economics of Water Demands. Boston: Kluwer Academic Publishers, 2002.

Grenon, Michel. The Nuclear Apple and the Solar Orange: Alternatives in World Energy. Trans. Roger Peniston-Bird. Oxford: Pergamon Press, 1981.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Among the many texts on Winona State’s retention list which deal with labor issues, there are two pamphlets from the National Museum of Wales that deal with the history of child labor.

Evans, Richard Meurig. Children in the Mines, 1840-42. Museum Schools Service, National Museum of Wales, 1972.

Evans, Richard Meurig. Children in the Iron Industry, 1840-42. Museum Schools Service, National Museum of Wales, 1972.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Winona State has had faculty in both Leadership Education and Business Administration who have been interested in Lean Manufacturing and Lean Management ideas. Well-known titles in leadership, such as Bolman’s Reframing Organizations, are not on the retention list, but several books about Lean Management are.

Emiliani, Bob. Real Lean Volume Two: Critical Issues and Opportunities in Lean Management. Kensington, Conn: The Center for Lean Business Management, LLC, 2007.