Max Weber (1881-1961) was a successful and well-respected artist whose media included oil paintings and sculpture. His son, Maynard "Mo" Weber, who passed away in 2019, was a Winona State alumnus and a generous benefactor to the university. In addition to donating money for scholarships, Mo Weber donated a number of pieces of his father’s artwork to Winona State and a number of exhibition catalogs from his father’s career to the library. Many of those exhibition catalogs, as well as other books by and about Max Weber, are on the Krueger Library’s retention list. Max Weber was born on April 18, 1881, which means that this Friday marks his 144th birthday. (A series of these exhibition catalogs sets a new record for the number of monographs in a row that are on the retention list. The old record was five; these catalogs break that record with six.)
For more information about Max Weber and his works at Winona State, follow this link to the collection at OpenRiver: Weber Art Collection
Weber, Max et al. First Comprehensive Retrospective Exhibition in the West of Oils, Gouaches, Pastels, Drawings, and Graphic Works by Max Weber (1881-1961): The Art Galleries, University of California at Santa Barbara, February 6 through March 3, 1968.
Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.
Max Weber (1881-1961) was a successful and well-respected artist whose media included oil paintings and sculpture. His son, Maynard "Mo" Weber, who passed away in 2019, was a Winona State alumnus and a generous benefactor to the university. In addition to donating money for scholarships, Mo Weber donated a number of pieces of his father’s artwork to Winona State and a number of exhibition catalogs from his father’s career to the library. Many of those exhibition catalogs, as well as other books by and about Max Weber, are on the Krueger Library’s retention list. Max Weber was born on April 18, 1881, which means that this Friday marks his 144th birthday. (A series of these exhibition catalogs sets a new record for the number of monographs in a row that are on the retention list. The old record was five; these catalogs break that record with six.)
For more information about Max Weber and his works at Winona State, follow this link to the collection at OpenRiver: Weber Art Collection
Weber, Max et al. First Comprehensive Retrospective Exhibition in the West of Oils, Gouaches, Pastels, Drawings, and Graphic Works by Max Weber (1881-1961): The Art Galleries, University of California at Santa Barbara, February 6 through March 3, 1968.
Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.