WSU Retention List Stories

Surprisingly, the book that discusses the “Got Milk?” marketing campaign of the 1990s is scarcely-held in Minnesota. (But there are more copies in Wisconsin than in the rest of the world combined. What a bunch of cheese heads!)

Manning, Jeff. Got Milk? The Book. Rocklin, CA: Prima, 1999. 

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

This story should fit nicely with the story from September 18, 2024, “They came from outer space … or did they?” However, this author is not critical of the idea of space aliens.

Ernest Norman was born in 1904. As a young man, he became interested in clairvoyance and fortune telling. Later, he started a spiritualist movement called the Unarius Science of Life. This book on the Krueger Library retention list was the first book of his new movement. In it, he meets someone named Nur El, an ambassador from Mars. In his astral body, Norman visits the underground cities of Mars. In his writings, Norman discusses reincarnation and the Archangel Raphael. This book was originally assigned a call number in the astronomy section, but we decided to move it to the shelf that has books on New Age spiritualism.

Norman, Ernest L. The Truth about Mars. 3d ed. Glendale, Calif: Unarius-Science of Life, 1967.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Islamic tradition takes a dim view of charging interest on borrowed money. (The pejorative term from European history is “usury.”) However, much of the global financial system is based on a system of charging interest on loaned money, whether it is with mortgages or bonds. Some of the books on the Krueger Library retention list, such as the one below, discuss methods of managing financial systems without charging interest on debt.

Rudnyckyj, Daromir. Beyond Debt: Islamic Experiments in Global Finance. Chicago: The University of Chicago Press, 2019.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Most of the WSU library books about gender roles are broad in scope. One book on the Krueger Library retention list is local to La Crosse, WI.

Larson, Margaret. For the Common Good: A History of Women’s Roles in La Crosse County, 1920-1980. La Crosse, Wis: League of Women Voters of La Crosse County, 1996.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

The original volumes called The American State Papers, which were published by the US federal government, were published between the 1830s and the 1860s. Those original publications were revised and republished in the 1960s and 1970s. 

The Krueger Library has several of the revised ASP subject series. The series which deals with the public finances of the federal government from 1789 until 1860 is complete enough (at 32 volumes) that the Krueger Library was assigned to have them on our Shared Print retention list. Therefore, if you want to dig into the early finances of the United States of America, grab your suntan lotion and come on down to Winona, the Miami of Minnesota.

The New American State Papers: Public Finance. Wilmington, Del: Scholarly Resources, 1972. 

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. This is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.