WSU Retention List Stories

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

November 1^st is celebrated in the several different Christian denominations as All Hallows’ Day, or All Saints Day. The College of St. Theresa in Winona closed its doors in the 1980s. At the time, Winona State purchased that college’s Children’s Literature collection because it was much more extensive than our own. Because of that purchase, for a public university, Winona State has a relatively large collection of children’s books about Catholic saints. Indeed, about half of all the books on our retention list that deal with Catholic theology are in the children’s collection, and conversely, a significant number of the children’s book on our retention list deal with the lives of the saints.

Diethelm, Walther. Saint Pius X, the Farm Boy Who Became Pope. Vision Books, 1956.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Winona State offers a Master’s Degree in Accounting. The Krueger Library supports the program with books such as this title on our retention list.

Ruppel, Warren. GAAP for Governments 2012: Interpretation and Application of Generally Accepted Accounting Principles for State and Local Governments. Hoboken, N.J: John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2012.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

In late 2022, Emily Hanford’s investigative reporting publicized a controversy in reading instruction between proponents and detractors of the pedagogical technique called “cueing theory” (https://features.apmreports.org/sold-a-story/). Both Minnesota and Wisconsin have since passed laws (MN 2024 HF-2497 and WI 2023 Act 20) discouraging reading curricula that rely on the now-discredited cueing theory.

This modern “reading war” echoes a disagreement a generation earlier between proponents of “whole language” instruction and phonics instruction. Two of the books on the Krueger Library retention list come from the opposing sides of that earlier reading war.

Goodman, Kenneth S, and Yetta M Goodman. A Whole-Language, Comprehension-Centered Reading Program. Arizona Center for Research and Development, University of Arizona, 1981.

Cox, Aylett R. Structures and Techniques: Remedial Language Training: Multisensory Teaching for Alphabet Phonics. Cambridge, Mass: Educators Publishing Service, 1974.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Winona State’s Child Advocacy Studies program was established in 2005. Several books related to that discipline are on WSU’s retention list.

Wright, Leslie Bailey., and Mindy B. Loiselle. Back on Track: Boys Dealing with Sexual Abuse. Safer Society Press, 1997.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

With flooding in the news, it is wise to recall the flooding problems in Winona, MN. After the catastrophic floods of 1965, the current levee was built between Winona and the Mississippi River. Fifty years ago, a team of Winona State faculty, led by Cal Fremling, published an environmental impact report on that work. Phase II of that report is on the Krueger Library’s retention list.

Fremling, Calvin R, Ervin G Bublitz, and Roger A Carlson. Environmental Impact Assessment Report on the Flood Control Project and Waterfront Development at Winona, Minnesota: Phase II Report. Winona, Minn: Winona State College, 1974.