WSU Retention List Stories

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Long-time Professor and Warriors sports announcer Brice Wilkinson (Communication Studies), who passed away in 2019, was a proponent of the Chinese discipline of Tai Chi, and, perhaps thanks to his advocacy, Winona State has a dozen Tai Chi books on our retention list.

Lowenthal, Wolfe. There Are No Secrets: Professor Cheng Man-Chʻing and His Tai Chi Chuan. Berkeley, Calif: North Atlantic Books, 1991.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Books about UFO abductions may catch the popular imagination, but they generally do not warrant serious study. One book on Winona State’s retention list is a serious study that examines claims that UFO abductions critically (and debunks them). Also, it has a great cover.

Klass, Philip J. UFO Abductions: A Dangerous Game. Buffalo, N.Y: Prometheus Books, 1989.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

The tragedy on September 11, 2001, rallied the vast majority of Americans to our flag. Most of the books in our library about 9/11 are widely held in Minnesota. One of the books in the Krueger Library about 9/11 which is rare in Minnesota is a text that criticizes its memorialization.

Skotnes, Andor and Jim O’Brien. Historicizing 9/11. Duke University Press, 2011.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

In his last years, the late Emeritus Professor Michael Delong (Biology) published his magnum opus, Rivers of North America (2023). See below. The Krueger Library, naturally, owns a copy, but it is not on WSU’s retention list. Other books about the conservation of rivers, however, are on the retention list.

De Waal, Louise., et al. Rehabilitation of Rivers: Principles and Implementation. John Wiley & Sons, 1998.

Boon, P. J., et al. Global Perspectives on River Conservation: Science, Policy, and Practice. Wiley, 2000.

Delong, Michael D. et al., eds. Rivers of North America. Second edition / edited by Michael D. Delong, Timothy D. Jardine, Arthur C. Benke, Colbert E. Cushing. Amsterdam: Academic Press, 2023.