WSU Retention List Stories

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Naturally, John F. Kennedy’s book Profiles in Courage is widely held and is therefore not on our retention list; however, another book about profiles in courage is not widely held and is on our list.

Perry, Troy D., and Thomas L. P. Swicegood. Profiles in Gay & Lesbian Courage. New York: St. Martin’s Press, 1991.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Winona State has forty-two volumes of the largest collection of US slave narratives published, but they are not on our retention list; however, a more obscure volume of slave narratives specifically from Texas is on our list. The holiday Juneteenth memorializes the day in 1865 when a quarter million enslaved persons in the state of Texas, which had been the last bastion for slavery at the end of the American Civil War, were declared free by the U.S. Army.

Murphy, Lawrence R., and Ronnie C. Tyler. The Slave Narratives of Texas. Encino Press, 1974.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Emerita Professor of Music Suzanne Draayer had as a focus of her research the Spanish composer Joaquín Rodrígo. She donated many items to the library. It is entirely fitting that a score (twenty) of Rodrígo’s musical scores are on Winona State’s retention list. (Note: there is a sequence of five titles in a row among these scores, which ties the record of consecutive titles set in story number ten.) This story rounds out our first score of stories (twenty) about the Winona State share of the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Below is one of the scores by Rodrigo.

 Rodrigo, Joaquín. Aranjuez, Ma Pensée: Tema Del Adagio Del Concierto de Aranjuez. Para Piano. 1988.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Some books initially make you wonder who would ever read them again. On WSU’s retention list is a book, written in German, which offered predictions of the future and which was published in 1970. Of what use today could a 1970 prediction about the future have? One of the chapters discussed the prognosis for East Germany. I can easily imagine an interesting essay comparing what actually happened to what was predicted in 1970.

Waterkamp, Rainer. Futurologie und Zukunftsplanung. Forschungsergebnisse. Stuttgart: Kohlhammer, 1970.