WSU Retention List Stories

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Among the many texts on Winona State’s retention list which deal with labor issues, there are two pamphlets from the National Museum of Wales that deal with the history of child labor.

Evans, Richard Meurig. Children in the Mines, 1840-42. Museum Schools Service, National Museum of Wales, 1972.

Evans, Richard Meurig. Children in the Iron Industry, 1840-42. Museum Schools Service, National Museum of Wales, 1972.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

One of our Collection Develop criteria for the Krueger Library is whether a potential addition is of local interest. At least two of the books on our retention list are creative works from WSU faculty or staff.

Oness, Elizabeth. Twelve Rivers of the Body. Arlington, VA: Gival Press, 2008.

Peterson, Nancy Kay. Selling the Family: Poems. Georgetown, KY: Finishing Line Press, 2010.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Because many colleges in Minnesota have religious affiliations—Lutheran, Catholic, and others—very few books on Christian theology are on our retention list. In fact, there is only one Christian Bible to be found there. While we at the Krueger Library do have a copy of the recent high-quality, multi-volume edition of the Bible produced at St. John’s University in Collegeville, it is widely held in Minnesota and is not on our retention list. Instead, Winona State seems to be the only library in Minnesota that possesses the 1983 edition of the text which was distributed to motels by the Gideons International.

The Holy Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments: The Revised Berkeley Version in Modern English. Nashville, Tenn: Gideons International, 1983.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Every library collection has its unique qualities. The patterns of books in our retention list demonstrate where our collection differs from others. Within the first thousand volumes of our retention list labelled, the longest streak of consecutive separate titles (not just volumes of a series, such as in story three) was five, and those books deal with the economy of Bangladesh. Not only does that shelf have a run of five titles, but it has three additional retention titles. Apparently, our campus has had a strong interest historically in the economy of Bangladesh, stronger than other campuses in Minnesota. Below is one title in that streak. Note: this record run was ultimately matched by musical scores by Joaquín Rodrígo (see story twenty), and will likely be exceeded during further labeling.

Seabrook, Jeremy. Freedom Unfinished: Fundamentalism and Popular Resistance in Bangladesh Today. London: Zed Books, 2001.