WSU Retention List Stories

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Winona State has had faculty in both Leadership Education and Business Administration who have been interested in Lean Manufacturing and Lean Management ideas. Well-known titles in leadership, such as Bolman’s Reframing Organizations, are not on the retention list, but several books about Lean Management are.

Emiliani, Bob. Real Lean Volume Two: Critical Issues and Opportunities in Lean Management. Kensington, Conn: The Center for Lean Business Management, LLC, 2007.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Works by members of marginalized communities, almost by definition, are likely to be uncommon. Here are two volumes of creative work by members of marginalized ethnic and gender communities.

Baraka, Amiri. The Baptism & the Toilet. New York: Grove, 1969.

Holoch, Naomi, and Joan Nestle. Women on Women 2: An Anthology of American Lesbian Short Fiction. New York: Plume, 1993.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

Winona State accepts donations of books by members of the general public (though we reserve the right to decide whether to add them or not). Some of those donations have shown up on our retention list. Here are two donations, the first from the estate of the former U.S. Marine Daniel Besser, and another from the estate of Minnesota film promoter Al Milgrom.

Oflag 64: The Fiftieth Anniversary Book. Evanston, Ill: Evanston Pub., 1993.

(An oflag, or offizierlager, was a German prison camp for captured enemy officers.)

Tarkovsky, Andreĭ Arsenʹevich. Andrei Rublëv. London: Faber and Faber, 1991.

Recap: In 2022, twenty-four Minnesota libraries joined together in a commitment to retain over a half-million print books which are scarcely-held in Minnesota. It is called the Minnesota Shared Print Collection. Here is one of the stories from the Winona State share of the collection.

As one could predict, none of the books written by Nobel-prize winning author John Steinbeck are uncommon enough in Minnesota to be on the Winona State retention list, … but his FBI files are!

Fensch, Thomas. The FBI Files on John Steinbeck. Santa Teresa, NM: New Century Books, 2002.