Research Hub: Library Services and Resources during COVID-19: Electronic Resources

Electronic Collections at WSU

If you are a student, faculty, or staff at WSU, you have remote access to over 170 Krueger Library databases. If you are accessing resources off campus, simply sign in with your StarID when you see this screen:

If you encounter any problems, contact library@winona.edu. Find Databases below or on our Databases A-Z List.

Databases & Links

Select a Database by Title:

Select a Subject for a list of Databases and Guides

The following database vendors have expanded access to their collections due to the COVID-19 crisis:

Cochrane Library
Unrestricted access for all during the COVID-19 crisis. Expiration of unrestricted access TBD.
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

Access is limited to three users at a time.
JSTOR
Access to thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering the social sciences, humanities, and arts. Some journal issues extend back to the 19th century. Full text.
Project Muse
Full text journals from Johns Hopkins University Press, emphasizing the humanities and social sciences.

The following databases and presses have made their content available for free due to the COVID-19 crisis and will be available temporarily at WSU:

Academic Search Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Broad database with both academic and general articles. Many are full text, but some are citation only.
EBSCO MegaFILE
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database spanning every area of academic study and general interest subject area. Offers information dating as far back as the 1800s. Contains more than 84,000 biographies, 83,000 primary source documents, 10,000 company profiles, and an image collection of more than 107,000 photos, maps, and flags. Some full text. Updated daily.
JSTOR
Access to thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering the social sciences, humanities, and arts. Some journal issues extend back to the 19th century. Full text.
Project Muse
Full text journals from Johns Hopkins University Press, emphasizing the humanities and social sciences.
ProQuest
All of the ProQuest databases, including APS Online, New York Times Historical, Ethnic NewsWatch Historical, Gender Watch, and Nursing & Allied Heath. Now also includes former Cambridge Scientific databases, such as the Materials Research Database and Sociological Abstracts.

OneSearch
Search for articles, books, and media through OneSearch.
Please note not all the expanded offerings from database vendors, publishers, and presses are reflected in OneSearch at this time. Contact a librarian if you have questions.

EBSCO eBook Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Access to over 14,000 eBooks for browsing or e-checkout.

MAC Users: Some versions of Firefox will not allow you to view the eBook pages. If you experience this problem, switch to Safari or Chrome.
Ebooks Minnesota - Minnesota Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
An online eBook collection for all Minnesotans. Covers a wide variety of subjects for readers of all ages and features content from our state's independent publishers, including some of our best literature and nonfiction.

Films on Demand
View documentary features and clips online in this library provided by Films for the Humanities and Sciences.
Academic Video Online (AVON)
The most comprehensive video database, with over 70,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Credo Reference
Full text resource for a diverse range of subjects. Types of sources include general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Access to standard and academic reference sources on a wide range of topics, including business, law, literature, medicine, technology, and more.
Encyclopaedia Britannica
- This link opens in a new window
This complete online version of the print encyclopedia includes more than 70,000 articles and over 100,000 links to other web-based content.
Oxford English Dictionary
Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. An unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words, past and present, from across the English-speaking world.

Flipster
A collection of digital magazines, including The Atlantic, Time, Diverse: Issues in Higher Education, Bloomberg Businessweek, The New Yorker, Rolling Stone, Newsweek, Columbia Journalism Review, Ebony, Forbes, the National Review, and more.

Flipster is available through WSU Apps. You need to use a web browser to download issues into the app to read them. Additional information is available in our Flipster Guide.
CQ Weekly Magazine
A weekly magazine that reports exclusively on activities in the U.S. Congress. Articles are in-depth reports on federal policy issues.

New York Times (Institutional Subscription)
Contact rebekah.vrabel@winona.edu if you need access.

Historical articles can be accessed via nyt.com, but you can only view five articles published between 1923-1980 per day. If you need access to more than five historical articles, use the New York Times Historical database available through the library.
Wall Street Journal (Institutional Subscription)
Contact rebekah.vrabel@winona.edu if you need access.

Users with an existing account have the option to connect it to the institutional subscription at the bottom of the "Create Account" page.
New York Times Historical
Full text and full image articles from the New York Times (1851-2017).
Minneapolis Star Tribune Historical
- This link opens in a new window
The entire Minneapolis Star and Tribune (including various predecessors) from 1867-2001.

The Winonan
WSU student newspaper
The Winonan
WSU student newspaper available through OpenRiver

RefWorks
Export your citations from library databases to RefWorks. Automatically format in-text citations and your bibliography in seconds, all from your browser of choice. Click on the logo to log in. Use the WSU RefWorks off campus code: RWWinonaSU.
Zotero
Export your citations from library databases to Zotero. Automatically format in-text citations and your bibliography in seconds, all from your browser of choice. Click on the logo to get started.
Purdue OWL's APA Guide
Online writing guide for APA citations
Purdue OWL's MLA Guide
Online writing guide for MLA citations
Purdue OWL's Chicago Style Guide
Online writing guide for Chicago citations

Interlibrary Loan / Resource Sharing

Article Requests

There will be no change in our services at this time; we are still able to receive articles from other libraries. However, articles may take an extra day or two depending on which library is able to fill the request. We appreciate your patience.

Please send any questions you may have to library@winona.edu or call (507) 457-5149

As this is a fluid and novel situation, our services may change in the future. Please check back for updates.

Darrell W. Krueger Library Krueger Library

Library Services and Resources during COVID-19

Ask A Librarian

Electronic Collections at WSU

Databases & Links

The following database vendors have expanded access to their collections due to the COVID-19 crisis:

The following databases and presses have made their content available for free due to the COVID-19 crisis and will be available temporarily at WSU:

Interlibrary Loan / Resource Sharing

Article Requests

Future Students

Winona State Alumni

Community Members

Ask a Question

Make a Gift

WSU Social Media

WSU eHome