Skip to main content

MUS 122: The History of Rock Music

Provide access to the music listed in the "Listening Guides" from _What's that Sound?_

What's in this guide?

What's in this guide?

The purpose of this guide is to provide quick access to the music highlighted in What's That Sound: An Introduction to Rock and Its History by John Covach and Andrew Flory. When new editions of this book are released, the library works on acquiring albums or collections of the musicians that have been included in the new edition. Some musicians from the 3rd edition may not be available through the library's Digital Sound Online Collection; however, the library is actively working on acquiring them. 

If you are interested in researching music topics or have questions about the library, you are encouraged to contact your Music Librarian, Allison Quam for research assistance.

How to Listen to the Tracks

Access to the Digital Sound Online Collection is only available on the campus network or through a VPN connection. You can find otherDigital Sound Online Collection by searching the WSU Library Catalog. First select "Digital Sound Online Collection" from the "Libraries and Collections" drop-down menu. Then, search for the music by music piece, country, composer, or other key terms.

Cisco AnyConnect VPN Client

In order to listen to any of the WSU Digital Sound Online Collection tracks off campus or in the dorms, you will need to use the Cisco AnyConnect VPN Client. You will find the Cisco software in your Applications folder. Your username and password is the same as your WSU username and password.

About the Digital Sound Online Collection

About

The Digital Sound Collection is a collection of streamed music used primarily for music education at Winona State University. Here's how to find online music using the Krueger Library catalog:

  1. From the WSU Library Catalog link under the Research drop-down menu.
  2. Select the Advanced search option, a link just to the right of the search box.
  3. Select Digital Sound Online from the Collection menu.
  4. Enter your search terms.
  5. Either search All Fields This searches all fields, including title, author, description, and so on.
  6. Or, change the All Fields menu to select a specific part of the catalog record to search, such as just the Title, Author (which is the composer), or Subject. Changing the field to just TITLE will communicate to the catalog to only search in the Title field of the catalog record.
  7. Click on the title for more information, a description, and access to the online album.
  8. Cite, email, text, or export the information using the links at the top.
  9. For access to the liner notes, playlist, and music tracks, select the Online info. Please note that the Online Music Collection is only available on the WSU Campus or via VPN (WSU Cisco AnyConnect Secure Mobility Client)
  10. If the music does not play after you click on a track, your browser may have pop-up windows blocked or the music player window might be behind your other windows.

Music in progess: We try to make music available when it is in the process of being digitized. For the Music which is not in the catalog please visit our Uncataloged Online Music


Copyright

These sound files have been prepared to provide instructional support for students enrolled at Winona State University and only tracks from recordings owned by Krueger Library are listed in the Online Music Collection. Copying, downloading, redistribution, modification and/or archiving of these files is prohibited.

Background

When WSU began its investigation into online music collection models, there were two models for digital music among libraries. One model was the e-reserve system which was used by the University of Wisconsin-Madison, University of Illinois at Urbana-ChampaignPennsylvania State University, and St. Cloud State University. This model allows for access for authenticated access to students in designated course (for the duration of the course).

The second model can be seen at Indiana University (IU). IU set up the Variations (and now Variations2) project at the William and Gayle Cook Music Library. In this model, the distribution of the streamed sound is limited to designated areas on campus. The recordings in the Music Library's collection can be found by searching the online catalog. Another example, Fogler Library collection, at the University of Maine, allows access to their Listening Center Online to students and faculty on their campus network. The WSU Online Music Collection is only available on the WSU campus (and via VPN authenicated login). The purpose of the project is primarily for educational use in the Music Department and other WSU curriculum.

The 1920s, '30s, '40s

The 1950s

The 1960s

The 1970s

The 1980s

The 1990s

The 2000s

Carrie Underwood - "Before He Cheats"

OutKast - "He Ya"

Wilco - "Ashes of American Flags"

Nickelback: Photograph