Research Hub: CMST 266: Professional Communication Skills (Makstenieks): Home

Career Services at WSU

Career Services
Winona State University
Career Exploration 101
CandidCareer.com

Associations

Associations provide career support and mentoring for students and professionals. Search for an association related to your career and/or industry.

Example: book editor

Search: book editor association

Results:

ACES: The Society for Editing
National Association of Independent Writers and Editors
American Association of Publishers
American Association of University Publishers
Editcetera
Society of Scholarly Publishing

Tip: add a state to find a local association

Search: publisher association Minnesota

Results:

Minnesota Media & Publishing Association
Minnesota Book Publishers Roundtable
Midwest Independent Publishing Association

What are citation tools?

Citation tools (sometimes called citation managers or reference managers) are programs that help you organize and cite your sources. You can export citations and articles from databases directly into your citation tool of choice, then use the same program to automatically cite your sources in Word and create a bibliography when your research is complete.

Two citation tools we recommend are RefWorks and Zotero.

Want to get started with citations, but don't know how? Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) is an excellent resource for creating citations:

Purdue OWL's APA Guide

Purdue OWL's MLA Guide

Purdue OWL's Chicago Style Guide

Career Resources Links

Occupational Outlook Handbook
A guide to career information about hundreds of occupations.
Gateway to Associations
The ASAE Gateway to Associations Directory service takes you directly to professional association websites you may consider joining to help make networking more convenient.
GuideStar
Directory of nonprofit organizations.
Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development
Resources and expertise to help at any stage of the job search, including resume writing.
O*NET
An interactive database of Occupational definitions.

Salary Information

Salary.com
Look up salaries by title. Also includes salary reports, job search help, and career development information.
Indeed Salaries
Search and compare salaries.
Cost of Living Calculator
How far will your salary go in another city?

Databases

Business Insights: Essentials
Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT, market share, and financial reports.
Business Source Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Broad database of over 2,100 business and trade journals. Some scholarly, others popular. Some full text, others citation only.
Mergent Intellect
Features industry surveys, data on private and public U.S companies, international businesses, and consumers, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and more.
New York Times (Institutional Subscription)
To set up your New York Times account provided by the library:
1. Click on the link above.
2. Sign in through the proxy with your Star ID and password.
3. Create an account using your Star ID followed by @winona.edu or @go.winona.edu as a login and follow the prompts.
4. If you are using a tablet or mobile device, the New York Times is available through an app that can be downloaded to your device. Login with the NYT account information you created in the steps above.
5. Having trouble? Email us!

If you have already created an account, sign in directly to the New York Times website using your WSU email address.
If your login has expired, use this link to search for Winona State University. Follow the prompts for whether you're on or off campus.

Historical articles can be accessed via nyt.com, but you can only view five articles published between 1923-1980 per day. If you need access to more than five historical articles, use the New York Times Historical database available through the library.
Wall Street Journal (Institutional Subscription)
To activate your WSJ account:
1. Click the link above.
2. Enter your Star ID and password.
3. Fill out the subscription form.
4. Repeat these steps every 180 days.
If you are using a tablet or mobile device, the WSJ mobile app is available through WSU Apps. Having trouble? Email us!

Users with an existing account have the option to connect it to the institutional subscription at the bottom of the "Create Account" page.
Academic Search Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Broad database with both academic and general articles. Many are full text, but some are citation only.