Getting Started: Use the Library Reference Collection
Here are some books that may assist you as you begin your research. These are located in the Reference Collection on the first floor of the library, and can't be checked out of the library.
An Encyclopedia of American Women at War by Lisa Tendrich Frank (Editor)
Call Number: UB418.W65 E53 2013
Publication Date: 2013-01-17
A sweeping review of the role of women within the American military from the colonial period to the present day. * An extensive bibliography offers additional reading and research opportunities * Accessibly written essays introduce the thematic developments of each major conflict in American history * Supporting photographs and illustrations depict key female figures * An informative overview in the frontmatter provides historical context to women's roles in the military
Enslaved Women in America by Deleso A. Alford (Editor); Daina Ramey Berry (Editor)
Call Number: E443 .E57 2012
Publication Date: 2012-06-12
This singular reference provides an authoritative account of the daily lives of enslaved women in the United States, from colonial times to emancipation following the Civil War. Through essays, photos, and primary source documents, the female experience is explored, and women are depicted as central, rather than marginal, figures in history. * Dozens of photos of former enslaved women * Detailed historical timeline * Numerous rare primary documents, including runaway slave advertisements and even a plantation recipe for turtle soup * Profiles of noted female slaves and their works
Women in American Politics by Doris Weatherford
Call Number: HQ1236.5.U6 W43 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-20
Women in American Politics is a new reference detailing the milestones and trends in women′s political participation in the United States. This two-volume work provides much needed perspective and background on the events and situations that have surrounded women′s political activities. It offers insightful analysis on women′s political achievements in the United States, including such topics as the campaign to secure nation-wide suffrage; pioneer women state officeholders; women first elected to U.S. Congress, governorships, mayoralties, and other offices; and women first appointed as Cabinet officials, judges, and ambassadors. It also includes profiles of the women who have run for vice president and president. Women in American Politics is organized in a framework both logical and useful to readers and researchers. Original material offers students, scholars, teachers, and other professionals a guide to understanding the complex struggle in women′s progress toward achieving political parity with men in the United States. Each chapter is structured in three parts: - part one features graphic information-tables, lists, charts, or maps-detailing the historical record with data not compiled anywhere else, on women officeholders. - part two offers insightful narrative analysis describing how women achieved what they did, examines the complex and sometimes contradictory trends behind the facts of women′s political milestones, and explores how social and economic contexts affected the progress of their accomplishments. - part three presents biographical entries describing in more personal terms women′s struggle for political equality. Sidebars in each chapter illuminate the drama of political life and consider the evolving female electorate, exploring how women voters have impacted particular issues, specific elections, or other key turning points, and the tradition of appointing widows to open seats. The final chapter uniquely looks at women′s political history and differences in achievement from a state and regional perspective. Entries on each state (as well as on District of Columbia and Puerto Rico) highlight milestones and provide insight into the unique aspects of each state.
Women in the American Civil War by Lisa Tendrich Frank (Editor)
Call Number: E628 .W655 2008
Publication Date: 2007-12-03
This fascinating work tells the untold story of the role of women in the Civil War, from battlefield to home front. * 400 A-Z entries provide details on individuals, organizations, battles, and women's roles in events of the Civil War * 12 contextual essays cover all aspects of life for women, North and South, slave and free, in the years immediately before, during, and after the Civil War * Original documents, including letters and diaries, personalize and bring to life historical information * A detailed chronology of Civil War events highlights those particularly affecting women * Includes an exhaustive bibliography of primary and secondary sources
A History of Women in the United States: State by State Reference by Doris Weatherford (Editor)
Call Number: HQ1410 .H58 2004
Publication Date: 2003-08-01
A to Z of American Women Leaders and Activists by Donna Langston
Call Number: HQ1412 .H54 2002
Publication Date: 2002-05-01
This reference features US government officials, state and local officeholders as well as suffragist leaders, women's liberation leaders, and leaders in other sociopolitical movements. Profiles include Ann Hutchinson, Sojourner Truth, Rosa Parks and Wilma Mankiller.
Encyclopedia of Women in American History by Eileen Chang; Joyce Appleby; Joanne L. Goodwin (Introduction by); Neva Goodwin
Call Number: HQ1410 .E53 2002
Publication Date: 2002-02-28
This illustrated encyclopedia examines the unique influence and contributions of women in every era of American history, from the colonial period to the present. It not only covers the issues that have had an impact on women, but also traces the influence of women's achievements on society as a whole. Divided into three chronologically arranged volumes, the set includes historical surveys and thematic essays on central issues and political changes affecting women's lives during each period. These are followed by A-Z entries on significant events and social movements, laws, court cases and more, as well as profiles of notable American women from all walks of life and all fields of endeavor. Primary sources and original documents are included throughout.
Women's Rights in the United States by Tiffany K. Wayne (Editor)
Call Number: HQ1236.5.U6 W677 2015
Publication Date: 2014-12-09
A comprehensive encyclopedia tracing the history of the women's rights movement in the United States from the American Revolution to the present day. * Offers informed, critical insights and perspectives from editor Tiffany K. Wayne; advising editor Lois Banner, noted author, professor, historian, and feminist; and expert contributors * Comprises more than 800 entries in four volumes on the people, organizations, events, legislation, and primary documents impacting gender relations in the United States * Supplies valuable content for librarians' events and programming for Women's History Month each March * Provides listings of U.S. court cases regarding women's rights chronologically organized by major time periods * Aligns with high school and college curricula in offering the experiences of American women * Includes coverage of current and ongoing issues related to women's civil and political equality in the 21st century