Located in the Reference Collection on the first floor of the library. This multi-hundred-volume set, published by Gale, is organized by genre and era, with each volume organized alphabetically by the last name. To use this set, look at the cumulative index of the last volume for the writer to learn the volume(s) that will contain a biographical essay. The DLB presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods.
American Writers Supplement
Call Number: Ref. PS129 .A55
Located in the Reference Collection on the first floor of the library. To use this set, look at the cumulative index of the last volume to learn the volume(s) that will contain a biographical essay. This set includes a collection of essays that examine the literary and biographical life of an American writer.
Located in the Reference Collection on the first floor. This twelve- volume set, published by Oxford University Press, is organized alphabetically by last name. "The African American National Biography presents history through a mosaic of the lives of thousands of individuals, illuminating the abiding influence of persons of African descent on the life of this nation from the arrival of Esteban in Spanish Florida in 1529 through to notable black citizens of the present day."
Search for the person's name or title of work as a SUBJECT.
Type in the name (last name, first name).
To ensure that you have located all books that discuss a specific person:
Complete an ALL FIELDS or KEYWORD search for the name or title. This type of search is successful when the name or title is not an assigned subject in the book record. Instead, the name appears in the contents section of the book record.
Click on the book title for more information and a description. From here, you may able be to look at the table of contents or view a list of subjects associated with the book. Also, note the similar items along the right side.
Cite, email, text, or export the information using the links at the top.
Write down the call number. Each book has its own call number and is organized by subject.
Make sure the book is available before you...
Go to the shelves to find your book. Main collection books are on the 2nd floor, while the reference collection is on the main floor, behind the reference desk.
Remember to browse. It's one of the best strategies for locating additional books.
Part of the Oxford Digital Reference Shelf. The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature includes over 350 entries covering the history of American Literature from the 1600s to the present day. It includes entries on poets, playwrights, essayists and novelists, as well as information on literary movements, periods, and themes.
Project MUSE is working with a variety of publishers to make scholarly content temporarily available for free. Content that is freely available on the Project MUSE platform during the COVID-19 crisis will display a distinctive “Free” icon, different from the “OA” icon used for fully open access content on MUSE, or the familiar green checkmark. Content availability is dependent on publisher.
Full-text journals from Johns Hopkins University Press, emphasizing humanities and social sciences.
Bibliography (citations) of journal articles, books, Web sites, and dissertations. Coverage includes literature from all over the world, folklore, linguistics and language materials, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and history of printing and publishing.