The collections will remain closed during the academic year. Please request any books you need through OneSearch. If you run into issues, please contact the library.
To request a book from the Krueger Library collections:
To request a chapter or pages from a book
If you have questions about submitting a request, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
Due to the additional cost of postage and packaging, we respectfully request that you order academic-related items.
Please send any questions you may have to email@example.com or call (507) 457-5149
As this is a fluid and novel situation, our services may change in the future. Please check back for updates.
Most of the databases the WSU Krueger Library subscribes and provides access can be accessed anywhere with an internet connection.
If you use a search engine (such as DuckDuckGo or Google) to search for the name of the database instead of clicking on the database link through the library's website, you should not expect to be given access to the database. However, there are a few exceptions, such as those databases provided by eLibraryMN: https://elibrarymn.org/.
Since many of these databases require a monetary fee for access, you need to be authenticated as a WSU student, faculty, and staff.
Once you click on the database link through the library, you will be prompted to use your StarID and password.
If you experience any issues with accessing the database, please contact the library (also see the Ask the Library box up above): http://libanswers.winona.edu/form.php?queue_id=339