Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Services and Resources during COVID-19

This guide outlines the library's services and resources available during the COVID-19 pandemic

Requesting Krueger Library Resources

Print Article Requests

Please request articles from our print periodical collection using Print Periodical Scanning Request Form
Additional information about this service can be found on our website.


Book & Book Chapter Requests

The collections are currently closed. Please request any books you need through OneSearch. If you run into issues, please contact the library.
To request a book from the Krueger Library collections:

  1.     Sign in (using your Star ID) to request the item via the My Account button on the library's homepage.
  2.     Find the item you would like to request in OneSearch.
  3.     Choose Request and enter the requested information
  4.     You will receive a notice once your book is available for pick up.    
    • If you would like us to mail the book(s) to your home address, please respond to the 'On Hold' email notice requesting mail service.
    • If you would like to schedule curbside pick-up, you must request curbside service at least 24 hours in advance by responding to the 'On Hold' email notice received in your email.
  5.     You are responsible for returning items to the library.  You may mail it back to us (at your expense) or return it in the drop box outside of the library.
    • Items returned to the library will be put in a 3-day quarantine. Your account will not reflect that the materials have been received until after this time. 

If you request mail delivery, we respectfully ask that you only order academic-related items at this time due to the additional cost of postage and packaging.

To request a chapter or pages from a book

  1. Fill out the Periodical Request Form
  2. Put book and chapter information in the forms as follows:
    • Journal/Newspaper Title = Book Title
    • Article or Document Title = Book Chapter Title
    • Article Author [if known] = Book Chapter Author (or Book Author depending)
    • Date or Date Range = Year of Publication
  3. You will receive a scanned copy of the requested pages via email.

If you have questions about submitting a request, please contact library@winona.edu.

DVD Requests

The DVD Media Collection is currently closed. Please request any items you need through OneSearch. If you run into issues, please contact the library.

To request a DVD from the Krueger Library:

  1.     Sign in (using your Star ID) to request the item via the My Account button on the library's homepage.
  2.     Find the item you would like to request in OneSearch.
  3.     Choose Request and enter the requested information
  4.     You will receive a notice once your DVD is available for pick up.    
    • If you would like us to mail the DVD(s) to your home address, please respond to the 'On Hold' email notice requesting mail service.
    • If you would like to schedule curbside pick-up, you must request curbside service at least 24 hours in advance by responding to the 'On Hold' email notice received in your email.
  5. You are responsible for returning the DVD to the library.  You may mail it back to us (at your expense) or return it in the drop box outside of the library.
    • Items returned to the library will be put in a 3-day quarantine. Your account will not reflect that the materials have been received until after this time. 

If you request mail delivery, we respectfully ask that you only order academic-related items at this time due to the additional cost of postage and packaging.

Please note that we also offer two databases that provide streaming videos:


Please send any questions you may have to library@winona.edu or call (507) 457-5149

As this is a fluid and novel situation, our services may change in the future. Please check back for updates.

Requesting Interlibrary Loan / Resource Sharing Items

Physical interlibrary loan / resource sharing has resumed, however, some requests may be delayed due to COVID-19 pandemic policies at other lending libraries. Quarantine safety protocols for materials may occur at several points along the request process, so your request may take longer than usual.

Please submit requests as you usually would through OneSearch. We will contact you if we are unable to fulfill the request. If a request is able to be filled, you will be notified when it is available for pick up at the library's Front Desk. You can request curbside pick-up or that the item be mailed to you by replying to the 'On Hold' email notification.

Patrons with checked out physical items: ILL / resource sharing items need to be returned and may not be kept indefinitely. You should not return items to any other libraries. You can return items using our outside drop box, at the Front Desk book cart, or mailed back to us:

Winona State University
Krueger Library
Interlibrary Loan / Resource Sharing
175 West Mark Street
Winona, MN 55987

Resource sharing for articles will continue as noted on the Electronic Resources page.


Please send any questions you may have to library@winona.edu or call (507) 457-5149

As this is a fluid and novel situation, our services may change in the future. Please check back for updates.

Picking Up Library Resources

You have two options to pick up library resources that you've requested: visiting the Front Desk or scheduling Curbside Pick-up. The Front Desk is staffed whenever the library is open and you can pick up items using your WSU ID. You are required to wear a mask in the building.

Curbside pick-up is available for those who do not feel comfortable entering the library building. Please follow these instructions to schedule your pick-up time:

  • Curbside service must be requested at least 24 hours in advance by responding to the 'On Hold' notice received in your email.
  • Curbside pick-up is only available between the hours of 11am and 1pm Monday-Friday
  • Park by the loading dock doors at the back of the library and do not leave your car. If arriving on outside of a vehicle, please wear a mask.
  • Call the front desk (507.457.5149) when you arrive.
  • Have your ID ready to show in order to receive your items.

You can also request that items be mailed to you by replying to the automated 'On Hold' email notification in your inbox. If you request mail delivery, we respectfully ask that you only order academic-related items at this time due to the additional cost of postage and packaging.


Please send any questions you may have to library@winona.edu or call (507) 457-5149

As this is a fluid and novel situation, our services may change in the future. Please check back for updates.

Returning Library Resources

Items returned to the library will be put in a 3-day quarantine. Your account will not reflect that the materials have been received until after this time. There are three options for returning library materials:

In Person

Return items inside the library on the book cart located by the Front Desk:

picture of book cart with signs about quarantining returned items

 
Use the Drop Box

Drop off items in the book return on the Dufresne PAC (north) side of the building:

picture of book return drop on north side of library building

   close up picture of book return on side of library building

 

 

 
Return by Mail

You can also mail items back to the library at your own expense. Mail to:

Winona State University
Krueger Library
175 West Mark Street
Winona, MN 55987


Please send any questions about your Krueger Library or ILL/Resource Sharing returns to library@winona.edu or call (507) 457-5149

As this is a fluid and novel situation, our services may change in the future. Please check back for updates.

Course Reserves

Placing items on Physical Reserve

3 Days Quarantine + 2 Days Processing = 5 Days before items are available

All items coming into the library have a 72 hour quarantine for worker safety. This includes any times that a professor brings in for reserves whether it is from their own personal collection or item they previously checked out. While we typically have reserve items available either same day or next day, our reserve policy does request 48 business hours before the item is on reserve. So, in total professors need to be prepared for a 5 day wait before the item is available on reserve. As the library collections are closed to patrons, if the item is on the shelf at the library we can pull and place it on reserve without the quarantine.  

Checkout periods

Physical reserve items will also have a 72 hour quarantine after checkout in order to keep our student workers and employees safe. This means a 2 hour reserve becomes a 74 hour reserve and a 2 day reserve becomes a 5 day reserve.  

E-reserve

Due to the quarantining of materials, e-reserves is the best and safest option.
If the item to be scanned for e-reserves is brought into the library for library staff to scan, there will be the 72 hour quarantine before we can handle and scan the item. The quarantine will not occur if the item is currently available on shelf in the library. You can get around this quarantine with your personal items by sending us the PDF of the item you want to have placed on e-reserves.  
The standard guidance towards placing selections from physical books is 10% or up to 1 chapter, whichever is less. While we are not able to scan and put an entire book on e-reserve we can put two or three chapters, depending on length of the book, as long as they are visible only for a set period of time AND only one chapter is visible at a time.  

Ebooks can be placed on e-reserves, however their licenses still apply which may reduce their availability as this controls the number of simultaneous users and the “check out period”.   We have been able to pull selections from e-books as PDFs and place them on e-reserve in the past.  In doing so we do have to follow copyright law and the selections are treated like selections from physical items.  


Please send any questions you may have to library@winona.edu or call (507) 457-5149

As this is a fluid and novel situation, our services may change in the future. Please check back for updates.