A-Z Databases

Popular Databases

The most frequently-used databases

This link opens in a new window

Popular

Broad database with both academic and general articles. Many are full text, but some are citation only.

Popular

Authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health. Virtually all English-language publications are indexed along with the publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Some full text.

CQ Researcher

Popular

In-depth, non-biased coverage of the most important and controversial issues of the day, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

Learn more about CQ Researcher!

Credo Reference

Popular

Full text resource for a diverse range of subjects. Types of sources include general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Flipster

Popular

Alternate Name(s) Magazines, popular culture, periodicals

A collection of digital magazines, including The Atlantic, Time, Diverse: Issues in Higher Education, Bloomberg Businessweek, The New Yorker, Rolling Stone, Newsweek, Columbia Journalism Review, Ebony, Forbes, the National Review, and more.

Flipster is available through WSU Apps. You need to use a web browser to download issues into the app to read them. Additional information is available in our Flipster Guide.

JSTOR

Popular

Access to thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering the social sciences, humanities, and arts. Some journal issues extend back to the 19th century. Full text.

New York Times (Institutional Subscription)

Popular

We are receiving reports about issues with new account registrations. Please contact Research Help for assistance if you encounter a problem.
To set up your New York Times account:
1. Click on the link above New York Times (Institutional Subscription) link.
2. Create an account using your StarID@minnstate.edu or StarID@go.minnstate.edu as your email address and follow the prompts.
Note: The New York Times is available through the NYT app on your smart phone or tablet.
Having trouble? Email us!

If your login has expired, use this link. Search and select Winona State University. "Please submit your details to redeem your pass" to verify if you are a student or faculty/staff. Next login to check to make sure you have reconnected to the WSU institutional subscription.

OneSearch

Popular

Alternate Name(s) Catalog

Provides simple, one-stop searching for books, eBooks, videos, articles, digital media, and more at the Krueger Library.
Sign in with your WSU Star ID to renew books, view your Resource Sharing/ILL requests, create favorites lists, and more.

Oxford English Dictionary

Popular

Alternate Name(s) OED

Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. An unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words, past and present, from across the English-speaking world.

PsycInfo

Popular

Alternate Name(s) APA PsycInfo

International literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

New / Trial Databases

The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.

Winona Newspaper Database

This link opens in a new window

New

Alternate Name(s) Winona City Newspapers Database Digital Collections, Digital Newspapers, Veridian Platform

Open access to Winona-area newspapers from the mid-1800s-1976. Presented by Krueger Library with the support of the Minnesota Historical Society and the cooperation of the Winona County Historical Society.