Links to freely available historical documents, primarily from the U.S. federal government.
- Original Text
The basic text in HTML format. There are hyperlinks from the main text to any amendments that have altered the standing of the original article.
- Annotated (long)
The text of the constitution with annotations to court opinions that have articulated the legal meaning of the original text. This link is to the 2013 edition at Congress.gov.
- A Century of Lawmaking, Library of Congress
Congressional Journals, Annals, and Statutes from 1774 to 1873. It does not appear that the full text of items available only in GIF format is indexed, but the full text of HTML pages is indexed for searching.
- American State Papers
This site contains the American State Papers in both a browsable and in a fulltext searchable form. The American State Papers are miscellaneous official documents from the time period of 1789 to 1838. They span both Congressional and Executive documents, dealing with both foreign affairs and domestic.
- Avalon Project, Yale Law
Historical legal and diplomatic documents from 400 BCE to the present.
- United States Statutes at Large
The complete Statutes at Large, from 1788 to the present. In very large PDF files (700 pages each). The Constitution Society, whose most well-known member is Ron Paul, has posted the entire Statutes at Large of the United States.
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
The Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States contains material compiled by the Office of the Federal Register. Each volume contains the papers and speeches of the President that were issued by the Office of the Press Secretary. Administrations covered: Hoover through Clinton.
- Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders
This site does not provide the full text of Presidential Executive Orders, but it does provide the title, date, and Federal Register citation to orders from the Truman Administration (1945) to the end of the Reagan Administration (1989).
- Papers of the War Department, 1784-1800
The Center for History and New Media at George Mason University recently completed a decade long project to locate all of these records and place them online here. The collection is a very important one, because during this time period the War Department was responsible for Indian affairs, veteran affairs, and naval affairs. Visitors can browse through 55,000 documents, and also perform detailed searches, complete with links to digitized images of each document. Interested parties can also browse the collection by year or person of interest.
- Clinton, Bush Websites
WSU Library's own links to archived websites from the Clinton and George W. Bush Whitehouses.